Lacerta viridis / Eastern Green Lizard

navigator Lacerta bilineataoverviewLacerta trilineata
  • Lacerta trilineata / Balkan Green Lizard

    Lacerta trilineata / Balkan Green Lizard

    clearpx
  • Timon lepidus / Ocellated Lizard

    Timon lepidus / Ocellated Lizard

    clearpx
  • Timon nevadensis / Sierra Nevada Ocellated Lizard

    Timon nevadensis / Sierra Nevada Ocellated Lizard

    clearpx
  • Subsp. viridis, male: RO / Nera Gorge, 31.05.2013

    The distribution area of Lacerta viridis ranges over the Balkan Peninsula (south to Central Greece) and the Danube river system to the European Black Sea Coast. In Turkey, it continues along the Black Sea Coast. Some isolated populations exist in Eastern Germany. In northern Italy, this species is replaced by Lacerta bilineata (see distribution map at Lacerta bilineata). This species lives in similar habitats like Lacerta bilineata: open areas with some vergetation – but in some areas, we also found these lizards inside of forests (e.g. in Romania). Besides of the nominate subspecies, the following subspecies are currently recognized:

    Lacerta viridis guentherpetersi lives in mountains in Central Greece (Ossa) and on Evia. It differs from the nominate subspecies by the fact, that also males have greenish but no blue throats.

    Lacerta viridis meridionalis is mainly a Turkish subspecies. It shows a characteristic colouration: the back part of the body and the tail is brown instead of green. Formerly, the populations from Eastern Greece and the Bulgarian and Romanian Black Sea Coast were also referred to this subspecies as they look similar. Genetic analysis however revealed, that the Bulgarian and Romanian specimens are just a colour morphe of the nominate subspecies (maybe an adaption to sparse and dry habitats). “Real” Lacerta viridis meridionalis seem to occur only at a few spots in Thrace and on Chalkidiki.

    Furthermore, the Adriatic coast from Pindos in the south to Friaul / Italy in the north is populated by genetic lineages which differ substantially from Lacerta viridis. Maybe they should be recognized as an additional species beneath Lacerta viridis and Lacerta bilineata. As so far, no taxonomic consequences have been drawn from this, those lineages are referred to “Adria Clade” on these pages.

  • Subsp. viridis, male: RO / Orsova, 30.05.2013

  • Subsp. viridis, female: RO / Orsova, 29.05.2013

  • Subsp. viridis, juvenile: RO / Orsova, 30.05.2013

  • Subsp. guentherpetersi, male: GR / Evia, 02.06.2012 - This subspecies has no blue throat and is more robust than the nominate subspecies.

  • Subsp. meridionalis, male: GR / Chalkidiki, 16.06.2009 - In Romania and Bulgaria, specimens of the „meridionalis“ phenotype – brown back parts of body and tail – occur frequently. Anyhow, in Europe subspecies meridionalis in a genetic sense occurs only at a few spots in eastern Greece.

     

  • "Adria Clade", male: GR / Corfu, 03.06.2017

  • "Adria Clade", female: MNE / Mrtvica, 04.07.2015

  • "Adria Clade", female: GR / Smolikas, 12.06.2009

Lacerta viridis / Östliche Smaragdeidechse

navigator Lacerta bilineataÜbersichtLacerta trilineata
  • Lacerta trilineata / Riesensmaragdeidechse

    Lacerta trilineata / Riesensmaragdeidechse

    clearpx
  • Timon lepidus / Perleidechse

    Timon lepidus / Perleidechse

    clearpx
  • Timon nevadensis / Perleidechse

    Timon nevadensis / Perleidechse

    clearpx
  • Nominatform, Männchen: RO / Nera Gorge, 31.05.2013

    Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Lacerta viridis erstreckt sich über die Balkanhalbinsel südlich bis Mittelgriechenland und das Flusssystem der Donau bis zur europäischen Schwarzmeerküste und setzt sich entlang der türkischen Schwarzmeerküste fort. Einige isolierte Vorkommen gibt es in Ostdeutschland. In Nordostitalien wird die Art durch Lacerta bilineata abgelöst (siehe Verbreitungskarte bei Lacerta bilineata). Die Art hat ähnliche Habitatansprüche wie Lacerta bilineata: besiedelt werden offene, verbuschte Flächen, wir konnten die Art in einigen Gebieten (z.B. Rumänien) auch innerhalb geschlossener Mischwälder beobachten. Neben der Nominatform werden folgende Unterarten unterschieden:

    Lacerta viridis guentherpetersi besiedelt Gebirge in Mittelgriechenland (Ossa) und Evia. Sie unterscheidet sich von der Nominatform insbesondere dadurch, dass auch Männnchen eine grüngelbe anstelle einer blauen Kehlfärbung haben.

    Lacerta viridis meridionalis hat ihren Verbreitungsschwerpunkt in der Nordost-Türkei. Sie zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass der hintere Teil des Rumpfes und der Schwanz eine braune anstatt einer grünen Färbung aufweisen. Früher wurden auch die ähnlich aussehenden Tiere in Ostgriechenland und an der bulgarischen und rumänischen Schwarzmeerküste zu dieser Unterart gerechnet. Genetische Untersuchungen weisen jedoch darauf hin, dass es sich bei den Tieren in Rumänien und Bulgarien lediglich um Farbmorphen der Nominatform handelt (möglicherweise eine Anpassung an karge Lebensräume). „Echte“ Lacerta viridis meridionalis kommen in Europa demnach nur an wenigen Stellen in Thrakien und auf dem Chalkidiki vor.

    Darüber hinaus wird die adriatische Küste vom Pindos im Süden bis nach Friaul / Italien von genetischen Linien besiedelt, die sich erheblich von Lacerta viridis unterscheiden und möglicherweise neben Lacerta bilineata und Lacerta viridis ein drittes eigenständiges Taxon bilden. Äußerlich unterscheiden sie sich nicht signifikant von den genannten Arten. Da bisher keine taxonomischen Schlüsse gezogen wurden, werden diese Linien werden an dieser Stelle als „Adria Clade“ bezeichnet.

  • Nominatform, Männchen: RO / Orsova, 30.05.2013

  • Nominatform, Weibchen: RO / Orsova, 29.05.2013

  • Nominatform, juvenil: RO / Orsova, 30.05.2013

  • Subsp. guentherpetersi, Männchen: GR / Evia, 02.06.2012 - Diese Unterart hat im Gegensatz zur Nominatform keine blaue Kehle und zeichnet sich durch einen robusten Körperbau aus.

  • Subsp. meridionalis, Männchen: GR / Chalkidiki, 16.06.2009 – während auch in Rumänien und Bulgarien oftmals Exemplare des „meridionalis“-Phänotyps – Braunfärbung von Hinterleib und Schwanz – zu beobachten sind, kommen auf europäischem Gebiet Vertreter dieser Unterart im engeren Sinne nur an wenigen Stellen in Nordost-Griechenland vor.

  • "Adria Clade", Männchen: GR / Korfu, 03.06.2017

  • "Adria Clade", Weibchen: MNE / Mrtvica, 04.07.2015

  • "Adria Clade", Weibchen: GR / Smolikas, 12.06.2009