Iberolacerta monticola / West Iberian Rock Lizard

navigator Darevskia praticolaoverviewIberolacerta galani
  • Iberolacerta galani / Galan's Rock Lizard

    Iberolacerta galani / Galan's Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • Iberolacerta cyreni / Cyren

    Iberolacerta cyreni / Cyren's Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • Iberolacerta martinezricai / Peña de Francia Rock Lizard

    Iberolacerta martinezricai / Peña de Francia Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • Subsp. monticola, Male: P / Serra da Estrela, 17.07.2013

    The genus Iberolacerta is present with four species in northern and western Iberia. Their distribution ranges are often limited to single mountain chains (see distribution map). These isolated distribution ranges can be interpreted as glacial relicts: After the last ice age, these lizards, which are adapted to cool temperatures, were restricted to refugia in high altitudes. As the different species can look very similar, the location is crucial for identification.

    Iberolacerta monticola has the biggest distribution range. Currently, three subspecies are known: Iberolacerta monticola monticola lives in the high altitudes of Serra da Estrela in Portugal. Iberolacerta monticola astur, which has been described in 2014, occurs in a small mountain area south of Villablino / Province Léon. Iberolacerta cantabrica occurs in the major part of the Cantabrian Range and in some isolated coastal areas in Galicia.

    Usually, this species lives in mountain areas up to 2000 meters where it can be found on granite rocks. In Galicia, however, there are some populations on sea level.

    Male specimen show bright greenish (or cyan) colors with dark markings and can hardly be confused with other species. Male Lacerta schreiberi may look similar on the first glance but they are bolder and bigger. Furthermore, they show characteristic blue throats in spring.

    Females are rather brownish and can be confused with Podarcis muralis, Podarcis bocagei or maybe with Podarcis guadarramae. A characteristic of Iberolacarta are the tail segments: they are alternately broad and narrow. At Podarcis, all tail segments have the same size. Furthermore, female Iberolacerta monticola have dark flanks contrasting with light backs but no explicit light dorsolateral line. The frequently have dark markings on the back but no clear dark vertebral line. Female Podarcis muralis however, frequently have light dorsolateral lines and a dark vertebral line.

    Female Podarcis bocagei have light dorsolateral lines and a dark supra-dorsolateral line (or row of dark spots). By these characters they can be distinguished from Iberolacerta monticola. The same applies for female Podarcis guadarramae.

    Juvenile Iberolacerta monticola frequently show bright blue tails and can be distinguished by this from juvenile Podarcis muralis. Juvenile Podarcis bocagei or Podarcis guadarramae also may have blue tails. In case of doubt, the dark supra-dorsolateral lines can be helpful for identification. However, the identification of single females or juveniles can be different sometimes.

  • Distribution of the genus Iberolacerta in northwestern Iberia

  • Subsp. monticola, Male: P / Serra da Estrela, 17.07.2013

  • Subsp. monticola, male: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Subsp. monticola, male: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Subsp. monticola, female: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Subsp. astur, male: E / Villablino, 20.09.2017

  • Subsp. astur, female: E / Villablino, 20.09.2017

  • Subsp. cantabrica, male: E / Picos de Europa, 12.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, male: E / A Coruna, 06.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, female: E / Picos de Europa, 09.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, juvenile: E / Picos de Europa, 12.09.2011

Iberolacerta monticola / Iberische Gebirgseidechse

navigator Darevskia praticolaÜbersichtIberolacerta galani
  • Iberolacerta galani / Spanische Gebirgseidechse

    Iberolacerta galani / Spanische Gebirgseidechse

    clearpx
  • Iberolacerta cyreni / Cyren

    Iberolacerta cyreni / Cyren's Gebirgseidechse

    clearpx
  • Iberolacerta martinezricai / Peña de Francia Gebirgseidechse

    Iberolacerta martinezricai / Peña de Francia Gebirgseidechse

    clearpx
  • Nominatform, Männchen: P / Serra da Estrela, 17.07.2013

    Die Gattung Iberolacerta ist im Norden und Westen der Iberischen Halbinsel mit vier Arten vertreten, deren Verbreitung oftmals auf einzelne Gebirgsstöcke begrenzt ist (siehe Verbreitungskarte). Diese inselartigen Verbreitungsgebiete sind als eiszeitliche Relikte zu interpretieren: Nach Ende der letzten Eiszeit waren diese kälteangepassten Arten gezwungen, sich in die Hochlagen der Berge zurückzuziehen. Da die verschiedenen Arten teilweise sehr ähnlich aussehen, ist der Fundort oftmals wesentlich für die Bestimmung.

    Das größte Verbreitungsgebiet hat Iberolacerta monticola. Derzeit werden drei Unterarten unterschieden: Die Nominatform lebt in den Hochlagen der Serra da Estrela in Portugal. Iberolacerta monticola astur wurde erst im Jahr 2014 beschrieben und kommt ausschließlich in einer Bergregion südlich der Stadt Villablino / Provinz Léon vor. Iberolacerta monticola cantabrica besiedelt weite Teile des Kantabrischen Gebirges sowie isolierte Küstengebiete in Galizien.

    Typischerweise besiedelt die Art montane Lebensräume bis 2000 m Höhe, wo sie auf Granitfelsen lebt. In Galizien kommen, wie bereits erwähnt, einzelne Populationen bis auf Meereshöhe vor.

    Männliche Tiere zeigen eine kräftige Grünfärbung (zuweilen auch cyan-farben) mit schwarzer Zeichnung und sind damit kaum mit anderen Arten verwechselbar. Lediglich männliche Lacerta schreiberi weisen eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit auf, sind aber größer und gedrungener gebaut und haben zudem im Frühjahr eine blaue Kehlfärbung.

    Weibliche Tiere sind eher braun gefärbt und können mit Podarcis muralis, Podarcis bocagei und ggf. Podarcis guadarramae verwechselt werden. Ein Kennzeichen von Iberolacerta sind die abwechselnd breiten und schmalen Schwanzwirtel. Bei Podarcis sind diese in der Regel immer gleich breit. Weibliche Iberolacerta monticola haben zudem dunkelbraune Flanken und eine charakteristische helle Rückfärbung, die mit den Flanken deutlich kontrastiert, jedoch keine deutliche helle dorsolaterale Linie. In der Regel existiert eine schwarze Fleckenzeichnung auf dem Rücken, aber meist keine klar definierte vertebrale Linie. Bei weiblichen Podarcis muralis ist oftmals eine helle dorsolaterale Linie sowie eine vertebrale Linie vorhanden.

    Weibliche Podarcis bocagei verfügen über eine helle dorsolaterale Linie, die durch eine dunkle supra-dorsolaterale Linie (oder dunkle Punkte) abgegrenzt ist, und lassen sich damit klar von Iberolacerta monticola unterscheiden. Gleiches gilt für weibliche Podarcis guadarramae.

    Juvenile Iberolacerta monticola haben zudem kräftig blau gefärbte Schwänze, was sie von juvenilen Podarcis muralis unterscheidbar macht. Juvenile Podarcis bocagei und Podarcis guadarramae haben hingegen ebenfalls eine blaue Schwanzfärbung. Bei diesen Arten kann im Zweifel die dunkle supra-dorsolaterale Linie als Unterscheidungsmerkmal dienen. Dennoch kann die Identifizierung einzelner weiblicher oder juveniler Tiere unter Umständen Schwierigkeiten bereiten.

  • Verbreitung von der Gattung Iberolacerta im Nordwesten der Iberischen Halbinsel

  • Nominatform, Männchen: P / Serra da Estrela, 17.07.2013

  • Nominatform, Männchen: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Nominatform, Männchen: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Nominatform, Weibchen: P / Serra da Estrela, 15.07.2013

  • Subsp. astur, Männchen: E / Villablino, 20.09.2017

  • Subsp. astur, Weibchen: E / Villablino, 20.09.2017

  • Subsp. cantabrica, Männchen: E / Picos de Europa, 12.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, Männchen: E / A Coruna, 06.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, Weibchen: E / Picos de Europa, 09.09.2011

  • Subsp. cantabrica, juvenil: E / Picos de Europa, 12.09.2011