Iberolacerta bonnali / Pyrenean Rock Lizard

navigator Iberolacerta aranicaoverviewIberolacerta horvathi
  • Iberolacerta horvathi / Horvath's Rock Lizard

    Iberolacerta horvathi / Horvath's Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • Hellenolacerta graeca / Greek Rock Lizard

    Hellenolacerta graeca / Greek Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • Dalmatolacerta oxycephala / Sharp-snouted Rock Lizard

    Dalmatolacerta oxycephala / Sharp-snouted Rock Lizard

    clearpx
  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

    The distribution range of Iberolacerta bonnali is restricted to the central Pyrenees und Spain and France (see map at Iberolacerta aurelioi). Like other Pyrenees Rock Lizards, Iberolacerta bonnali is a high altitude mountain species. It lives on bare rocky habitats, which may be covered with snow until early summer.

    Within its distribution range, it co-occurs with Zootoca vivipara and Podarcis muralis. Zootoca vivipara frequently shows a dark vertebral line which lacks in Iberolacerta bonnali. Furthermore, Iberolacerta bonnali has a characteristic pointed snout. Moreover, Zootoca vivipara seems to prefer well-vegetated habits (heathland) instead of rocky areas – real syntopy should be rare.

    Podarcis muralis frequently shows a dark vertebral line which lacks in Iberolacerta bonnali. Furthermore, it has dark-spotted, frequently orange throat, whereas Iberolacerta bonnali has an unspotted whitish throat. It seems that during the recent years, Podarcis muralis has been occupying increasingly high altitudes. Presumably, this leads to some crowding out of Iberolacerta bonnali.

    Iberolacerta bonnali differs from other Pyrenean Rock Lizard species by the following characters: Iberolacerta aranica has the three characteristic big masseteric scales. Iberolacerta aurelioi frequently has a yellow underside.

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

Iberolacerta bonnali / Pyrenäen-Gebirgseidechse

navigator Iberolacerta aranicaÜbersichtIberolacerta horvathi
  • Iberolacerta horvathi / Kroatische Gebirgseidechse

    Iberolacerta horvathi / Kroatische Gebirgseidechse

    clearpx
  • Hellenolacerta graeca / Griechische Spitzkopfeidechse

    Hellenolacerta graeca / Griechische Spitzkopfeidechse

    clearpx
  • Dalmatolacerta oxycephala / Spitzkopfeidechse

    Dalmatolacerta oxycephala / Spitzkopfeidechse

    clearpx
  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

    Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Iberolacerta bonnali umfasst die zentralen Pyrenäen auf französischer und spanischer Seite (s. Verbreitungskarte bei Iberolacerta aurelioi). Wie die anderen Iberolacerta-Arten der Pyrenäen handelt es sich auch bei Iberolacerta bonnali um eine Hochgebirgsart. Sie besiedelt felsige Habitate, die oft bis zum Frühsommer mit Schnee bedeckt sind.

    Innerhalb ihres Verbreitungsgebietes kommt sie syntop mit Zootoca vivipara und Podarcis muralis vor. Von Zootoca vivipara unterscheidet sich Iberolacerta bonnali durch das Fehlen einer dunklen vertebralen Linie. Iberolacerta bonnali hat zudem eine charakteristisch zugespitzte Schnauze. Zootoca vivipara scheint außerdem vegetationsreiche Habitate (Heide) gegenüber Felshabitaten zu bevorzugen, so dass echte Syntopie selten sein dürfte.

    Podarcis muralis hat häufig eine dunkle vertebrale Linie und weist eine gefleckte, oftmals orangefarbene Kehle auf, während diese bei Iberolacerta bonnali ungefleckt ist. Podarcis muralis scheint in den vergangenen Jahren zunehmend in höhere Habitate vorzudringen, wo es dann möglicherweise zu Verdrängung von Iberolacerta bonnali kommt.

    Von anderen Iberolacerta-Arten der Pyrenäen unterscheidet sich Iberolacerta bonnali wie folgt: Iberolacerta aranica hat große masseterische Schuppen, die bei Iberolacerta bonnali nicht ausgeprägt sind. Iberolacerta aurelioi unterscheidet sich von Iberolacerta bonnali durch die gelbe Bauchfärbung.

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016

  • F / Hautes-Pyrenées, 22.08.2016