Podarcis liolepis / Catalonian Wall Lizard

navigator Podarcis hispanicusoverviewPodarcis guadarramae
  • Podarcis guadarramae / Guadarrama Wall Lizard

    Podarcis guadarramae / Guadarrama Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis bocagei / Bocage's Wall Lizard

    Podarcis bocagei / Bocage's Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis virescens / Geniez's Wall Lizard

    Podarcis virescens / Geniez's Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Subsp. liolepis, Male: F / Pyrénées-Orientales, 22.06.2008 - The distribution range of Podarcis liolepis reaches from southern France to south-eastern Spain. In particular the populations in the south of this range are still poorly known, distinguishing these lizards from other Iberian wall lizard species can be difficult. In particular, the taxonomic status of the Podarcis liolepis subspecies should be revised: Podarcis liolepis cebennensis has been described for southern France. The Columbretes Archipel is populated by subspecies Atrata although this might be only an insular morph of the nominate subspecies. Subspecies sebastiani has been described for the Basque area, although this is probably just an ecotype of the nominate subspecies. The remaining populations in Spain and extreme southern France (Pyrénées-Orientales) are all referred to the nominate subspecies. But there are at least two morphs which differ with regard to their mitochondrial DNA as well as in morphological characters – and therefore should probably be regarded as separate subspecies:

    In the Alicante Province there is a „green morph“: males of this morph often show bright green colours. In central-eastern Spain (Provinces of Cuenca and Teruel) as well as further south in the Betic mountain range, there is another morph which shows – compared to the nominate subspecies – a conspicuous stripe pattern (see below).

    Podarcis liolepis looks similar to Podarcis muralis although it is more slender with lighter colouration. Podarcis muralis shows a more distinct dark brown stripe on the flanks and a conspicous dark blotch above the front legs.

  • Distribution of Podarcis liolepis in eastern Spain

  • Subsp. sebastiani, pair: F / Basque Country, 24.08.2016

  • "Green morph", male: E / Alicante, 29.12.2011 - The green morph occurs in the coastal limestone ranges between Valencia and Alicante.

  • "Green morph", female: E / Alicante, 26.12.2011

  • "Striped morph", male: E / Alto Tajo, 04.09.2014 - The striped morph differs from the nominate subspecies by the following characters: It has white undersides whereas males of the nominate subspecies often have orange undersides. At the nominate subspecies, the light dorsolateral line is widerbthan the dark supra-dorsolateral line whereas at the “striped morph, the supra-dorsolateral line is very wide and dark. At the nominate subspecies, the light dorsolateral line in males is often weak and interrupted but at the striped morph, also males show clear and continuous light dorsolateral lines. The wide supra-dorsolateral line and a dark flank stripe make them often appear very dark.

    In particular in south of its range, the “striped morph” seems to have a preference for mountainous, forested habitats with high humidity. In south of its range it has contact zones with Podarcis hispanicus, Podarcis virescens and Podarcis vaucheri which are poorly known so far.

  • "Striped morph", female: E / Canada del Hoyo, 08.09.2014

Podarcis liolepis / Katalonische Mauereidechse

navigator Podarcis hispanicusÜbersichtPodarcis guadarramae
  • Podarcis  guadarramae / Spanische Mauereidechse

    Podarcis guadarramae / Spanische Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis bocagei / Nordwestiberische Mauereidechse

    Podarcis bocagei / Nordwestiberische Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis virescens / Spanische Mauereidechse

    Podarcis virescens / Spanische Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Nominatform, Männchen: F / Pyrénées-Orientales, 22.06.2008 - Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Podarcis liolepis erstreckt sich von Südfrankreich bis Südost-Spanien. Insbesondere die Populationen im Süden des Verbreitungsgebietes sind bislang wenig erforscht, die Abgrenzung zu anderen iberischen Podarcis-Arten kann Schwierigkeiten bereiten. Insbesondere erscheint die Unterartgliederung dieser Art überarbeitungsbedürftig: In Südfrankreich lebt die Unterart cebennensis. Für die Columbretes-Inseln wurde die Unterart atrata beschrieben, wobei es sich hier möglicherweise nur um eine Inselmorphe der Nominatform handelt. Ferner wurde für das Baskenland die Unterart sebastiani beschrieben, wobei es sich hier möglicherweise nur um eine Ökomorphe der Nominatform handelt. Die Populationen im übrigen Spanien und im äußersten Süden Frankreiches (Pyrénées-Orientales) werden hingegen derzeit alle unter der Nominatform geführt. Es gibt jedoch zumindest zwei weitere Formen, die sich in ihrer mtDNA als auch morphologisch von der Nominatform unterscheiden und daher möglicherweise Unterartstatus haben sollten:

    In der Provinz Alicante findet sich eine „grüne Form“, bei der vor allem männliche Tiere oftmals eine leuchtend grüne Färbung aufweisen. Im zentralen Ost-Spanien (Provinzen Cuenca und Teruel) sowie weiter südlich im betischen Massiv gibt es eine weitere Form, die im Vergleich zur Nominatform ein auffälliges Streifenumster aufweist (s.u.).

    Podarcis liolepis ähnelt Podarcis muralis, ist jedoch schlanker gebaut und zumeist heller gefärbt als Podarcis muralis, welche einen stärker ausgeprägten braunen Flankenstreifen und einen dunklen Schulterfleck aufweist.

  • Verbreitung von Podarcis liolepis in Ostspanien

  • Subsp. sebastiani, Paar: F / Baskenland, 24.08.2016

  • "Grüne Form", Männchen: E / Alicante, 29.12.2011 - Die grüne Form kommt in den küstennahen Kalkgebirgen zwischen Valencia und Alicante vor.

  • "Grüne Form", Weibchen: E / Alicante, 26.12.2011

  • "Gestreifte Form", Männchen: E / Alto Tajo, 04.09.2014 - Die gestreifte Form unterscheidet sich in folgenden Merkmalen von der Nominatform: Die Bauchseite ist bei dieser Form weiß, während männliche Tiere der Nominatform oftmals orangefarbene Bauchseiten haben. Bei der Nominatform ist die helle dorsolaterale Linie breiter als die meist schwach ausgebildete supra-dorsolaterale Linie, bei der „gestreiften Form“ ist die supra-dorsolaterale Linie sehr breit und stark ausgebildet. Bei der Nominatform ist die helle dorsolaterale Linie bei männlichen Tieren meist unterbrochen, oft undeutlich oder fehlend, während bei der „gestreiften Form“ auch die Männchen deutliche helle dorsolaterale Linien aufweisen. Die breite supra-dorsolaterale Linie und ein dunkler Flankenstreifen verleihen der „gestreiften Form“ oftmals eine insgesamt dunkle Färbung.

    Die „gestreifte Form“ scheint vor allem in ihrem südlichen Verbreitungsgebiet eine Präferenz für montane, bewaldete und vergleichsweise feuchte Habitate zu haben. Im Süden ihres Verbreitungsgebietes kommt es zu Kontaktzonen mit Podarcis hispanicus, Podarcis virescens und Podarcis vaucheri, die bislang nur wenig erforscht sind.

  • "Gestreifte Form", Weibchen: E / Canada del Hoyo, 08.09.2014