Podarcis tiliguerta / Tyrrhenian Wall Lizard

navigator Podarcis pityusensisoverviewPodarcis muralis
  • Podarcis muralis / Common Wall Lizard

    Podarcis muralis / Common Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis siculus / Italian Wall Lizard

    Podarcis siculus / Italian Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis waglerianus / Sicilian Wall Lizard

    Podarcis waglerianus / Sicilian Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Subsp. tiliguerta, male: I / Sardinia / Sette Fratelli, 31.03.2007 - Podarcis tiliguerta is an endemic species of Corsica, Sardinia and surrounding islets. It is closely related to Podarcis lilfordi and Podarcis pityusensis from the Balearics. For Podarcis tiliguerta, 10 subspecies have been described for satellite islets of Sardinia although these are probably not valid. The populations from Corsica and Sardinia so far have been referred to the nominate subspecies. Anyhow, genetic analysis has revealed that the lizards from Corsica and Sardinia are two different species. As Podarcis tiliguerta has initially been described for Sardinia, the lizards from Corsica should hence be a new taxon.

    At Podarcis tiliguerta, the green colouration of the back is continued on the tails, whereas at Podarcis siculus, which also occurs on Corsica and Sardinia, the green colouration of the back ends at the hind legs. Furthermore, Podarcis siculus is significantly bigger than Podarcis tiliguerta.

  • Distribution range of Podarcis tiliguerta

  • Subsp. tiliguerta, male: I / Sardinia / Masua, 26.03.2007

  • Subsp. tiliguerta, female: I / Sardinia / Sette Fratelli, 31.03.2007

  • Corsica population, male: F / Bonifacio, 12.09.2013 - The lizards from Corsica look similar to those from Sardinia. So far, the Corsican taxon hasn’t been described. Anyhow, there seem to be some differences: Males from Sardinia frequently show bright green colours while those on Corsica show paler colourations. Furthermore, males from Sardinia frequently have a continuous light dorsolateral line whereas in Corsican males it is often interrupted into single spots. However, there are numerous exceptions.

  • Corsica population, male: F / Vizzavona, 08.09.2013

  • Corsica population, female: F / Vizzavona, 08.09.2013

  • Corsica population, male: F / Restonica, 09.09.2013

Podarcis tiliguerta / Tyrrhenische Mauereidechse

navigator Podarcis pityusensisÜbersichtPodarcis muralis
  • Podarcis muralis / Mauereidechse

    Podarcis muralis / Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis siculus / Ruineneidechse

    Podarcis siculus / Ruineneidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis waglerianus / Sizilianische Mauereidechse

    Podarcis waglerianus / Sizilianische Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Nominatform, Männchen: I / Sardinien / Sette Fratelli, 31.03.2007 - Die Art ist ein Endemit der Inseln Korsika und Sardinien und umliegender Eilande und eng verwandt mit Podarcis lilfordi und Podarcis pityusensis auf den Balearen. Bei Podarcis tiliguerta wurden 10 Unterarten für die vorgelagerten Inseln Sardiniens beschrieben, die jedoch nicht valide sein dürften. Die Populationen auf Korsika und Sardinien selbst werden bislang hingegen der Nominatform zugerechnet. Genetische Untersuchungen haben jedoch gezeigt, dass es sich bei den Tieren auf Korsika und Sardinien jeweils um eine eigenständige Art handelt. Da Podarcis tiliguerta ursprünglich für Sardinien beschrieben wurde, müsste dann für Korsika ein neues Taxon festgelegt werden.

    Bei Podarcis tiliguerta setzt sich die Grünfärbung des Rückens auf dem Schwanz fort. Bei der ebenfalls auf Korsika und Sardinien vorkommenden Podarcis siculus endet hingegen die grüne Rückenfärbung bei den Hinterbeinen. Podarcis siculus ist zudem deutlich größer als Podarcis tiliguerta.

  • Verbreitung von Podarcis tiliguerta

  • Nominatform, Männchen: I / Sardinien / Masua, 26.03.2007

  • Nominatform, Weibchen: I / Sardinien / Sette Fratelli, 31.03.2007

  • Korsika-Population, Männchen: F / Bonifacio, 12.09.2013 - Die Tiere auf Korsika ähneln denen auf Sardinien. Eine taxonomische Beschreibung liegt noch nicht vor. Es scheint jedoch Unterschiede zu geben: Männliche Tiere auf Sardinien zeigen oftmals kräftigere Grüntöne als diejenigen auf Korsika. Zudem zeigen männliche Tiere auf Sardinien oftmals eine durchgehende helle dorsolaterale Linie während diese bei Männchen auf Korsika in der Regel zu einzelnen Punkten unterbrochen ist – es gibt allerdings zahlreiche Ausnahmen.

  • Korsika-Population, Männchen: F / Vizzavona, 08.09.2013

  • Korsika-Population, Weibchen: F / Vizzavona, 08.09.2013

  • Korsika-Population, Männchen: F / Restonica, 09.09.2013