Podarcis erhardii / Erhard's Wall Lizard

navigator Podarcis milensisoverviewPodarcis peloponnesiacus
  • Podarcis peloponnesiacus / Peloponnese Wall Lizard

    Podarcis peloponnesiacus / Peloponnese Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis cretensis / Cretan Wall Lizard

    Podarcis cretensis / Cretan Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Podarcis levendis / Pori Wall Lizard

    Podarcis levendis / Pori Wall Lizard

    clearpx
  • Subsp. erhardii, male: GR / Serifos, 18.04.2018

    The distribution area of Podarcis erhardii includes the southern Balkans and numerous Aegean Islands. Podarcis erhardii is a typical Wall Lizard without any special habitat preferences. About 20 subspecies have been described – in particular for the Aegean Islands – although most of them are likely to be invalid. Anyhow, within this species a big genetic and morphologic variety can be found. At least the mainland populations and those from the Aegean Islands could be two different species. If a deeper systematic structure would be required, the following schedule could be helpful:

    Mainland:
    - Podarcis erhardii riveti: Bulgaria, Macedonia, Serbia, Kosovo, Northern Greece, possibly also Northern Sporades.
    - Podarcis erhardii livadiacus: Attika, Evia and north-eastern Peloponnese

    The status of subsp. ruthveni from the Northern Sporades is unclear so far: Some genetic analysis indicate that it clusters with subsp. riveti. Other analysis indicate that this is a seperate group.


    Aegean Islands:
    - Western lineage – western Cyclades (Sifnos and Serifos – the lizards from these island correspond to the nominate subspecies - and Kithnos)
    - Central lineage – numerous islands of the central Cyclades including Tinos, Mykonos, Naxos
    - Eastern lineage – East-Aegean Islands (Anafi, Astypalea and some uninhabited islets)

    The western and central lineage may constitute one group.

    Currently, one could only speculate about the future taxonomy – here, still a lot of research has to be done.

  • Distribution range of Podarcis erhardii

    Subsp. riveti:

  • Subsp. riveti, male: GR / Ossa, 03.06.2009

    The distribution area of Podarcis erhardii riveti overlaps with Podarcis muralis, Podarcis tauricus and Podarcis ionicus. Both species can look quite similar – but Podarcis muralis frequently shows a dark vertebral line which lacks in Podarcis erhardii riveti. Where both species co-occur, Podarcis muralis occupies more humid micro-habitats.

    Males of Podarcis erhardii riveti frequently have reddish undersides whereas Podarcis tauricus usually has yellowish or whitish undersides. Furthermore, Podarcis tauricus shows bright green colors in spring which lack in Podarcis erhardii riveti. The same applies to differences between Podarcis erhardii riveti and Podarcis ionicus.

  • Subsp. riveti, male: GR / Vikos, 10.06.2009

    Subsp. livadiacus:

  • Subsp. livadiacus, male: GR / Peloponnes, 26.10.2012

    This subspecies seems to have a preference for mountainous habitats (on Evia and Peloponnese it lives in altitudes above 1000 m – but there also have been records for lower elevations).

    It can be distinguished from Podarcis muralis by the lacking of a vertebral line. Furthermore, males of Podarcis erhardii livadiacus show a characteristic bronze-colouration on their backs and shoulders. Where both species co-occur (e.g. Evia, Peloponnese), Podarcis muralis inhabits more humid micro-habitats.

    On Peloponnese, Podarcis erhardii livadiacus and Podarcis peloponnesiacus occur in syntopy. In particular, females of these species can look very similar. But, Podarcis erhardii usually has dark spots on the labial scales which lack in Podarcis peloponnesiacus. Furthermore, Podarcis peloponnesiacus has a dark vertebral line, which lacks in Podarcis erhardii.

    Podarcis erhardii livadiacus can hardly be confused with Podarcis ionicus, which also occurs on Peloponnese. In particular, Podarcis ionicus shows bright green colors in spring, which lack in Podarcis erhardii livadiacus.

  • Subsp. livadiacus, male: GR / Evia, 01.06.2012

  • Subsp. livadiacus, male: GR / Evia, 01.06.2012

    Cyclades - Western Lineage:

  • Subsp. erhardii, female: GR / Serifos, 18.04.2018

    On Serifos, males as well as females have strinking yellow throats. Within its distribution area, Podarcis erhardii erhardii is the only small Lacertid and cannot be confused with other species.

  • Subsp. erhardii, male: GR / Sifnos, 07.06.2011 - In contrast to Serifos, lizards of Sifnos have whitish throats.

    Cyclades - Central Lineage:

  • Subsp. naxensis, male: GR / Naxos, 29.03.2016

    Specimens from the western and central Cyclades look very similar (see also first picture) but there seem to be genetic differences. These lizards are quite variable in pattern and colouration. As they are the only small Lacertids within their distribution area, they cannot be confused with other species.

  • Subsp. naxensis, male: GR / Naxos, 01.04.2016

  • Subsp. naxensis, male: GR / Naxos, 30.03.2016

    Cyclades - Eastern Lineage:

  • Subsp. syrinae, male: GR / Astypalaia, 26.03.2016

    The lizards of the eastern Aegean Islands differ from those on the central Cyclades: Compared to the lizards of the Central Cyclades they have short limbs and longer heads with pointed snouts. This eastern form is so far poorly known – therefore, also their future taxonomic status is unclear.

  • Subsp. syrinae, pair: GR / Astypalaia, 26.03.2016

  • Male: GR / Pergousa, 18.05.2018 - The populations of Pergousa and Pachia so far haven't been referred to any subspecies. However, they belong as well to the eastern lineage. These are the only populations of Podarcis erhardii east of the Mid-Aegean Trench.

Podarcis erhardii / Ägäische Mauereidechse

navigator Podarcis milensisÜbersichtPodarcis peloponnesiacus
  • Podarcis peloponnesiacus / Peloponnes-Mauereidechse

    Podarcis peloponnesiacus / Peloponnes-Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis cretensis / Kretische Mauereidechse

    Podarcis cretensis / Kretische Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Podarcis levendis / Pori-Mauereidechse

    Podarcis levendis / Pori-Mauereidechse

    clearpx
  • Nominatform, Männchen: GR / Serifos, 18.04.2018

    Podarcis erhardii besiedelt die südliche Balkanhalbinsel sowie zahlreiche Ägäische Inseln. Es handelt sich um eine typische Mauereidechse ohne besondere Habitatansprüche. Derzeit werden 20 Unterarten unterschieden – insbesondere für einzelne Ägäische Inseln –, die aber größtenteils nicht valide sein dürften. Dennoch besteht innerhalb der Art eine hohe genetische und morphologische Variabilität. Möglicherweise handelt es sich bei den Tieren des Festlands und jenen auf den ägäischen Inseln um zwei verschiedene Arten. Wenn man noch tiefer untergliedern wollte, wäre folgende Systematik denkbar:

    Festland:
    - Podarcis erhardii riveti: Bulgarien, Mazedonien, Serbien, Kosovo, Nördliches Griechenland, möglicherweise auch nördliche Sporaden
    - Podarcis erhardii livadiacus: Attika, Evia und Nordost-Peloponnes

    Der Status der Unterart ruthveni auf den nördlichen Sporaden ist nicht abschließend geklärt: Nach genetischen Untersuchungen ist diese eng mit der Unterart riveti verwandt. Es gibt aber auch genetische Analysen, nach denen es sich hier um eine eigene Gruppe handelt.


    Ägäis:
    - Westliche Form – westliche Kykladen (Sifnos und Serifos – die Tiere auf diesen Inseln entsprechen der Nominatform - sowie Kithnos)
    - Zentrale Form – zahlreiche Inseln der zentralen Kykladen einschließlich Tinos, Mykonos, Naxos
    - Östliche Form – ostägäische Inseln (Anafi, Astypalea und einige unbewohnte Eilande)

    Die westliche und die zentrale Form scheinen eng verwandt zu sein.

    Über die künftige Taxonomie lässt sich im Moment nur spekulieren – hier besteht noch erheblicher Forschungsbedarf.

  • Verbreitung von Podarcis erhardii

    Subsp. riveti:

  • Subsp. riveti, Männchen: GR / Ossa, 03.06.2009

    Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Podarcis erhardii riveti überschneidet sich mit dem von Podarcis muralis und Podarcis tauricus sowie Podarcis ionicus. Beide Arten können sehr ähnlich aussehen – Podarcis muralis hat aber oftmals eine dunkle vertebrale Linie, die bei Podarcis erhardii riveti fehlt. Wo beide Arten vorkommen, besiedelt Podarcis muralis oftmals die feuchteren Mikrohabitate.

    Männchen vor Podarcis erhardii riveti haben zum Teil eine kräftig orangefarbene Bauchfärbung, welche bei Podarcis tauricus meist gelblich oder weiß ist. Zudem weist Podarcis tauricus im Frühjahr eine kräftige Grünfärbung auf, während solche Grüntöne bei Podarcis erhardii riveti nicht vorkommen. Gleiches gilt für die Unterscheidung von Podarcis erhardii riveti und Podarcis ionicus.

  • Subsp. riveti, Männchen: GR / Vikos, 10.06.2009

    Subsp. livadiacus:

  • Subsp. livadiacus, Männchen: GR / Peloponnes, 26.10.2012

    Die Unterart scheint eine Präferenz für montane Habitate zu haben (auf Evia und dem Peloponnes lebt sie auf über 1000 m Höhe – es gibt aber auch Nachweise in deutlich tieferen Lagen).

    Von Podarcis muralis unterscheidet sich diese Form ebenfalls durch die fehlende vertebrale Linie. Männchen von Podarcis erhardii livadiacus haben zudem eine charakteristische Bronzefärbung auf Schulter und Rücken. Wo beide Arten vorkommen (z.B. Evia, Peloponnes), besiedelt Podarcis muralis oftmals die feuchteren Mikrohabitate.

    Auf dem Peloponnes kommt zudem auch Podarcis peloponnesiacus syntop mit Podarcis erhardii livadiacus vor. Vor allem weibliche Tiere beider Arten können sich sehr ähnlich sehen. Podarcis erhardii hat in der Regel dunkle Flecken auf den Labialen, die bei Podarcis peloponnesiacus fehlen. Während Podarcis peloponnesiacus in der Regel eine vertebrale Linie zeigt, fehlt diese bei Podarcis erhardii.

    Mit Podarcis ionicus, die ebenfalls auf dem Peloponnes vorkommt, kann Podarcis erhardii livadiacus kaum verwechselt werden. Insbesondere weist Podarcis ionicus im Frühjahr eine kräftige Grünfärbung auf, während solche Grüntöne bei Podarcis erhardii livadiacus nicht vorkommen.

  • Subsp. livadiacus, Männchen: GR / Evia, 01.06.2012

  • Subsp. livadiacus, Männchen: GR / Evia, 01.06.2012

    Kykladen - Westliche Form:

  • Nominatform, Weibchen: GR / Serifos, 18.04.2018

    Auf Serifos haben männliche sowie weibliche Tiere leuchtend gelbe Kehlen. Innerhalb ihres Verbreitungsgebietes ist die Nominatform die einzige kleine Lacertidenart, so dass keine Verwechslungsgefahr besteht.

  • Nominatform, Männchen: GR / Sifnos, 07.06.2011 - Im Gegensatz zu Serifos haben die Eidechsen auf Sifnos weiße Kehlen.

    Kykladen - Zentrale Form:

  • Subsp. naxensis, Männchen: GR / Naxos, 29.03.2016

    Die Vertreter der westlichen und der zentralen Kykladen ähneln sich äußerlich (s. auch oberstes Bild) – genetisch scheint es aber Unterschiede zu geben. Sie sind farblich sehr variabel und zeigen im Frühjahr oftmals kräftige Grüntöne. Da es sich um die einzige kleine Lacertidenart in dieser Region handelt, besteht keine Verwechslungsgefahr.

  • Subsp. naxensis, Männchen: GR / Naxos, 01.04.2016

  • Subsp. naxensis, Männchen: GR / Naxos, 30.03.2016

    Kykladen - Östliche Form:

  • Subsp. syrinae, Männchen: GR / Astypalaia, 26.03.2016

    Die Tiere auf den Ostägäischen Inseln unterscheiden sich äußerlich von denen auf den Zentralkykladen: Sie haben im Vergleich zu den Eidechsen der Zentralkykladen vergleichsweise kurze Gliedmaßen und langgestreckte Schädel mit zugespitzter Schnauze. Über die östliche Form ist bislang wenig bekannt, somit ist auch unklar, welchen taxonomischen Status diese erhalten sollte.

  • Subsp. syrinae, Paar: GR / Astypalaia, 26.03.2016

  • Männchen: GR / Pergousa, 18.05.2018 - Die Populationen der Inseln Pergousa sowie Pachia westlich von Nisyros wurden bislang keiner Unterart zugeordnet. Sie sind jedoch ebenfalls der östlichen Form zuzurechnen. Es handelt sich hier um die einzigen Populationen von Podarcis erhardii östlich des mittelägäischen Grabens.