Pyrenees, 2008 - 2016

It’s ok to fail – unless you don’t make a habit of it. As everyone knows, third time pays for all – so it took us three attempts to find the endemic lizards of the genus Iberolacerta in the Pyrenees. At our third try in August 2016, these were actually the last three European lizard species on our tick list – this time we simply had to be successful, even more as we were accompanied by the perfect team!

  • Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    The Robinson Crusoe Project

    clearpx
  • Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    At the edge of Europe (and beyond)

    clearpx
  • Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Spring trip to the Western Cyclades

    clearpx
  • Southeastern Spain, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Southeastern Spain, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Betic lizards – a photo documentation

    clearpx
  • Northwestern Spain, 16.-23.9.2017

    Northwestern Spain, 16.-23.9.2017

    Reptile Rallye on the Iberian Peninsula

    clearpx
  • Ionian Islands, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Ionian Islands, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Cruising through Ulysses’ homeland

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Lizard safari at the Atlantic coast

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Season Opening 2017

    clearpx
  • Pyrenees, 2008 - 2016

    Pyrenees, 2008 - 2016

    Searching for Pyrenean lizards - third time's a charm!

    clearpx
  • Sicily & Aeolian Islands, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Sicily & Aeolian Islands, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Mission Volcano! Smoking mountains and rare reptiles

    clearpx
  • Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Hellas reloaded – Back in Europe’s biodiversity lab

    clearpx
  • Spain, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Spain, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Biodiversity on the south-eastern tangent

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Lizard Safari in the mountains of Montenegro

    clearpx
  •  Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    The exclusive Podarcis filfolensis Home Story!

    clearpx
  • Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Adventures in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula

    clearpx
  • Central Spain, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    Central Spain, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    14 days in the heat of Castile

    clearpx
  • Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Reptile adventures in Western Greece

    clearpx
  • Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    2014 Season Kick-off with 16 reptile species

    clearpx
  • Corsica, 07.-17.09.2013

    Corsica, 07.-17.09.2013

    Mountains, sea and rock lizards

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Lizard hunting in Central Portugal

    clearpx
  • Romania, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Romania, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Herping adventures from the Black Sea coast to the Iron Gate

    clearpx
  • Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Visiting the Balearic lizards

    clearpx
  • Peloponnese, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Peloponnese, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Autumn trip on Peloponnese

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Summer trip in the mountains of Montenegro

    clearpx
  • Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Our search for the legendary giant lizards...

    clearpx
  • Crete, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Crete, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Searching for flowers and lizards on Crete...

    clearpx
  • Andalucia, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Andalucia, 10. - 18.03.2012

    A hot week full of herping highlights in Southwestern Andalucia

    clearpx
  • Northern Spain, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Northern Spain, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Herpetological trip to the northwest of Spain: the mountains west of Leon, the Atlantic coast south of A Coruña and the Picos de Europa.

    clearpx
  • Aegean Islands, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Aegean Islands, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Five islands in two weeks: Kythira, Pori, Milos, Kimolos and Sifnos

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Trip to the easternmost island of Greece...

    clearpx
  • Central spain, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Central spain, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Iberolacertas within Sierra de Gredos, Pena de Francia and Sierra de Guadarrama

    clearpx
  • Alps, 03. -17.07.2010

    Alps, 03. -17.07.2010

    Our first trip to the Alps led us to the Allgäu area, the Julian Alps and Carinthia

    clearpx
  • Northern Peloponnese, 3.-11.4.2010

    Northern Peloponnese, 3.-11.4.2010

    Four Podarcis species in one area!

    clearpx
  • Northern Greece, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Northern Greece, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Great trip to the Pindos mountains...

    clearpx
  • Sicily, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Sicily, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Orchid trip to eastern Sicily

    clearpx
  • Spain, November 2008 / February 2009

    Spain, November 2008 / February 2009

    Lizards in the Alicante Province

    clearpx
  • Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Chamaeleons, Trachylepis and beautiful beaches...

    clearpx
  • Eifel region

    Eifel region

    Our local "playground": botanical highlights, meadows with numerous butterflies and some herpetofauna...

    clearpx
  • If you want to search for lizards in the Pyrenees, you should put on your hiking boot (towards Port del Rat / 2008)

    June 2008

    We started our first attempt during a France camping holiday in June 2008: Our target species were the Pyrenees lizards Iberolacerta aurelioi, Iberolacerta bonnali and Iberolacerta aranica. In those days we had no precise information where to find these lizards. Hence we had to rely on literature – a somehow naïve approach, admittedly. First, we wanted to go for Iberolacerta aurelioi which was supposed to occur in the mountains near Auzat... somewhere at Port del Rat, we had learned. So we started our hike before sunrise – the weather was great and we were optimistic, heading towards Port del Rat where we expected to find the lizards basking in the morning sun. Up there, on 2200 m, the rocks were still covered with snow, no lizards at all. After a long frustrating search we gave up.

    After that, we had another try in the Southern Pyrenees – in the Spanish Ordesa NP: The next morning we started another sweaty hike in fantastic mountain scenery. Above Circo de Cotatuero we expected to find Iberolacerta bonnali. But we had to realize that the area was full of Podarcis muralis – no Iberolacerta at all. We realized that it would be impossible to find the Pyrenean lizards without precise spots. So we would have to try again in future…

  • At Port del Rat: a lot of snow – but no lizards

  • Zootoca vivipara was the only Lacertid we found in those mountains

  • Getting up for another hike (yes: back in those days we did camping holidays!)

  • In Ordesa NP

  • Only Podarcis muralis up there

  • Disappointed…

    July 2014

    July. Summer. Our second attempt: Düsseldorf – Saint-Lary-Soulain = 1.324 km. After an endless journey on French motorways we reached the Pyrenees in the late afternoon: Here, it was cold and rainy. Anyway, the next morning we tried our luck for Iberolacerta bonnali – this time we had a precise spot at 2000 m altitude, a 100% chance… When we arrived in the habitat, temperatures were below 10 °C, rather cloudy with a few sunny moments. However, some reptiles were active up there: we found Zootoca vivipara, Vipera aspis – and lots of Podarcis muralis. But unfortunately no Iberolacerta. An hour later, the sky was completely covered with clouds and we had to cancel our search. The weather forecast for Saint-Lary-Soulain was lousy. Hence we headed for Val d’Aran (Spain). We found an accommodation in Salardu, our next station, where we hoped to find Iberolacerta aranica the other day.

    The next day: In the early morning we started the long hike to the Iberolacerta aranica spot. Unfortunately, after half an hour walk the path was blocked by a cattle of sheep which were guarded by about 10 fierce shepherd dogs. Not very brave, admittedly, but we preferred to go back to the valley. Later on in Salardu, we were informed that the way to the mountains had been blocked by ravines. This also explained why the cattle of sheep had been in our way. Another defeat. Next, we explored a mountain valley where we found Natrix maura and a nice Zamenis longissimus. In the afternoon, we went to Ordesa NP, where we had failed with Iberolacerta bonnali six years ago – but this time we had precise coordinates.

    The next day: getting up early, again; the same sweaty hike as in 2008. When we arrived at the Iberolacerta spot the weather changed: cold wind and the sky covered with clouds. We were at a loss: meanwhile, the forecast for the whole Pyrenees was disastrous – also this time, we wouldn’t find the Iberolacertas… We decided to leave the Pyrenees and went to Andosilla (Navarra) to search for Psammodromus hispanicus (sensu stricto), a species which had been described in 2012. Unfortunately, the bad weather followed us: At Andosilla, heavy thunderstorms brought a temperature drop and continuous rain. The next day we waited for the rain to stop and when the first sunrays came through the clouds Psammodromus hispanicus appeared – At least, a new species for us.

    In the afternoon, we went to the Burgos area, to search for Vipera latastei – a bad idea: here it was really cold; the locals were dressed in winter coats. The next morning: at 8 °C local temperature we checked the forecast: For Düsseldorf 30 °C had been announced that day! Our morale was ruined – we wanted to go home. Burgos – Düsseldorf = 1.527 km: On our way home we crossed France with speed of light (Note: getting into speed traps in France is quite expensive!).

    We had given our best, but our goodwill didn’t help against the unfriendly weather conditions in the Pyrenees – those stubborn mountains were just too ignorant…

  • This wormwhole beamed us from Düsseldorf to the Pyrenees.

  • Lizard habitat at Saint-Lary-Soulain: c-c-cold…

  • The complete area was full of Podarcis muralis

  • Vipera aspis

  • Zootoca vivipara louislantzi

  • Natrix maura

  • Zamenis longissimus

  • Torla in Ordesa NP

  • Spectacular scenery – but no Iberolacertas

  • Dark clouds at Andosilla

  • Psammodromus hispanicus

  • Winter at Burgos

    August 2016

    20.08.

    Since our diplomacy had not been fruitful with regard to Iberolacertas on the previous journeys, this time we decided to rely on military support. Hence, we engaged a team of well-trained combat machines: On 20th of August we took the flight to Barcelona, received our rental car and picked up Sjoerd van Bemmel (NL), Paul Lambourne (UK) and his fiancée Alison Guest at the airport. With this company, really nothing could go wrong! After our Super-Heroes were stowed on the back seat, we headed straightly to the Pyrenees. Our first goal: The Col de Puymorens, where a Pyrenan subspecies of Sand Lizard (Lacerta agilis garzoni) can be found. Up in the Pyrenees, nothing was left of the Barcelona’s Mediterranean summer heat: on the mountain pass it was windy and foggy with some drizzle… we already were familiar with this kind of weather. Anyhow, after 10 seconds or so, Sjoerd found the first Sand Lizard –Super-Hero style… After photographing some Lacerta agilis, Podarcis muralis and Anguis fragilis we went to Tarascon-sur-Ariège, where we spent the night.

  • Super-Heroes never freeze

  • Lacerta agilis garzoni (male)…

  • …and female

  • Anguis fragilis

  • The heroes stalking lizards

    21.08.

    Today, Iberolacerta aurelioi was on our list: Hence we went towards Port del Rat, where we had our first attempt in 2008. The dense fog didn’t keep us from hiking uphill. The cloudy scenery rather resembled to “Lord of the Rings” (just the moment before the attack of the Orks) – but not to a lizard excursion in summer. Anyhow, after half an hour hiking the sky became clear and the lizard habitats were in full sun. Nothing could stop us now – and actually, at the expected spot we found those lizards basking in the sun. The surrounding heathlands were full of Zootoca vivipara and Paul fished some newts (Calotriton asper) out of the nearby brook. Yes! Strike! Mission completed: Our super-heroes had a quick well-deserved bath in the 4 °C mountain stream to cool down from the cooking 20 °C of the French Pyrenees. After this, we headed for Saint-Lary-Soulain, our next station.

  • Somewhere, close to Mordor

  • Hiking uphill

  • The sun comes out

  • Finally: Iberolacerta aurelioi!

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Zootoca vivipara

  • Calotriton asper

  • View from the Iberolacerta-Habitat

  • Well deserved…

  • …refreshment

  • Erebia cassioides

  • Circaetus gallicus

    22.08.

    Saint-Lary-Soulain: After our heroes had completed their morning training sessions, we went to the Iberolacerta bonnali-spot, where we had tried our luck in 2014. The mountains were in full sun. At first, it seemed that the complete area was spoiled with Podarcis muralis. But after a while, we also found some Iberolacertas: Uber-Yesss! The second tick! Next, we searched for Vipera aspis. We deployed and after a while Paul came back with a Vipera aspis. Soon, another Vipera was found – mission accomplished. Now we went towards Val d’Aran. During a stop-over in the valley where we found Zamenis longissimus in 2014, Sjoerd found – Zamenis longissimus.

    As it was late in the afternoon, we were driving with admittedly “efficient” speed – and got stopped by the police. The Spanish police officers didn’t care about the fact that two sweaty naked mean and a lady in bikini were sitting on our back seat. But the tattered passports of our companions were in such a bad state that it took half an hour for the officers to check the IDs. The policemen also reacted rather humourless when we tried to take some pictures of the situation. Finally, we were allowed to drive on and finished this successful day with some beer and pizza in Salardu.

  • morning training sessions

  • Iberolacerta habitat

  • Podarcis muralis

  • Iberolacerta bonnali

  • Iberolacerta bonnali - male

  • Iberolacerta bonnali - female

  • Iberolacerta bonnali

  • Vipera aspis

  • Vipera aspis

  • The heroes photographing Vipera aspis

  • Cordulegaster boltoni

  • Zamenis longissimus

  • Stop: Police!

    23.08.

    The next day: In the early morning we started the long hike to the Iberolacerta aranica spot (you will find the identical sentence in our 2014 chapter). To safe time, we tried to drive uphill with our car. Unfortunately, our VW-Touran turned out to be absolutely not super-hero proof and couldn’t cope with the trail conditions. Therefore, we had to walk. High up in the mountains we came across the fierce sherpherd dogs which attacked us in 2014. Well, they really enjoyed being cuddled by Paul and Alison… And so we reached the Iberolacerta habitat, which was still in shade. Now we had to wait for the sun to enter the valley – or maybe not? Paul turned a stone and found a lizard below. Uber-Yessssss! The last lizard species on our European tick list – Iberolacerta aranica (and yes: despite of differently stated rumours we were really happy!). As the sun finally came out, the lizards were everywhere – a really rewarding species to photograph.

    Anyhow, we didn’t have much time to celebrate our success as we had new goals: Paul desperately wanted to see Rana pyrenaica. Hence we went to the western Pyrenees: It would be a four-hour ride, it was early afternoon – so there was a chance to find that species until sunset. Soon after the French border: the next police control. The French officer (he surprisingly was able to speak English) asked us if we had alcohol or cigarettes in our car. We answered “no” (faithful eyes) and drove on. At 6 pm we arrived at the frog habitat, an almost dried-up brook. Anyhow, we were able to find the frog. A successful day, so we celebrated with some delicious Basque food at our hotel in the evening (the Basque language turned out to be completely incomprehensible – but Sjoerd obviously was able to speak this language fluently, at least the roaring noise he made after he had some Coke sounded similar...).

  • Hardness test for our Volkswagen

  • Hiking in dawn

  • Waiting for the sun to enter the valley

  • The “last“ species!

  • Iberolacerta aranica basking in the morning sun.

  • These lizards use sunbasking as part of their social behaviour

  • Very photogenic

  • ...

  • Same stone…

  • …other specimen

  • The winning team: Peter, Birgit, Sjoerd, Alison, Paul

  • Mission accomplished!

  • Rana pyrenaica

  • Rana temporaria

    24.08.

    We went to a well-known spot for Vipera seoanei – obviously this spot is known so well that there are not many Viperas left. At least we weren’t lucky. So we went to another place where we hoped to find Podarcis liolepis sebastiani, a subspecies of the Catalonian Wall Lizard. Maybe we would also find Viperas there? There was a promising boulder with an estimated weight of a medium-sized car which looked like a Vipera hide-out. Sjoerd accepted the challenge to turn that rock: He flipped it and of course he found a Vipera under it (which turned out to be Vipera aspis, however – we shouldn’t Vipera seoanei this time). At the very end we finally came across Podarcis liolepis. Taking some fast snapshots – and now it was about time to leave the Basque Country. Our team had their return flights from Barcelona the next morning. The journey back to Barcelona was a 570 km ride – Birgit did it with speed of light. We had a last memorable evening in Barcelona and dropped our team at the airport in the early morning. We hided our tears and said goodbye: Thanks for this legendary trip – travelling with you was great fun! We spent the last two days of our trip with sightseeing in Saragossa – a city with a remarkable street art culture and plenty of bars where we could celebrate our successful trip.

  • In the Western Pyrenees

  • Alytes obstetricans

  • Bufo spinosus

  • Vipera aspis

  • Podarcis liolepis sebastiani

  • Saragossa street art: „Tribute to Iberian Wildlife“ by Dulk

Pyrenäen, 2008 - 2016

Scheitern ist ok, solange man es nicht zur Gewohnheit werden lässt. Aller guten Dinge sind bekanntlich Drei – und so viele Anläufe benötigten wir, um die endemischen Eidechsen der Gattung Iberolacerta in den Pyrenäen zu finden. Bei unserem 3. Versuch im August 2016 waren dies tatsächlich die letzten drei europäischen Eidechsenartenarten, die wir noch nicht gesehen hatten – dieses Mal musste es einfach klappen, zumal wir mit dem perfekten Team unterwegs waren!

  • Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Eidechsensafari an der Atlantikküste

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Season Opening 2017

    clearpx
  • Pyrenäen, 2008 - 2016

    Pyrenäen, 2008 - 2016

    Aller guten Dinge sind Drei: Die Suche nach den Pyrenäeneidechsen

    clearpx
  • Sizilien & Äolische Inseln, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Sizilien & Äolische Inseln, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Mission Vulkan! Rauchende Berge und seltene Reptilien

    clearpx
  • Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Hellas reloaded – Besuch in Europas Biodiversitäts-Labor

    clearpx
  • Spanien, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Spanien, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Biodiversität auf der Südost-Tangente

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Eidechsensafari in den Bergen Montenegros

    clearpx
  •  Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Die exklusive Podarcis filfolensis Homestory!

    clearpx
  • Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Abenteuer im Südosten der arabischen Halbinsel

    clearpx
  • Zentralspanien, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    Zentralspanien, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    14 Tage in der Hitze Kastiliens

    clearpx
  • Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Reptilienabenteuer in Westgriechenland

    clearpx
  • Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    2014 Season Kick-off mit 16 Reptilienarten

    clearpx
  • Korsika, 07.-17.09.2013

    Korsika, 07.-17.09.2013

    Berge, Meer und Felseidechsen

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Eidechsensuche in Zentralportugal

    clearpx
  • Rumänien, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Rumänien, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Herpetologische Abenteuer von der Schwarzmeerküste zum Eisernen Tor

    clearpx
  • Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Besuch bei den Baleareneidechsen

    clearpx
  • Peloponnes, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Peloponnes, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Herbstreise quer durch den Peloponnes

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Sommertrip in die Berge Montenegros

    clearpx
  • Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Die Suche nach den legendären "Rieseneidechsen"...

    clearpx
  • Kreta, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Kreta, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Auf der Suche nach den Blumen und Eidechsen Kretas...

    clearpx
  • Andalusien, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Andalusien, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Eine heiße Woche voller herpetologischer Highlights im Südwesten Andalusiens

    clearpx
  • Nordspanien, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Nordspanien, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Herpetologische Reise in den Nordwesten Spaniens: die Berge westlich von Leon, die Atlantikküste südlich von A Coruña und die Picos de Europa.

    clearpx
  • Ägäis, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Ägäis, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Fünf Inseln in zwei Wochen: Kythira, Pori, Milos, Kimolos und Sifnos

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Exkursion zur östlichsten Insel Griechenlands...

    clearpx
  • Zentralspanien, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Zentralspanien, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Iberolacertas in der Sierra de Gredos, Pena de Francia und Sierra de Guadarrama

    clearpx
  • Alpen, 03. - 17.07.2010

    Alpen, 03. - 17.07.2010

    Unsere erste Tour in die Alpen führte uns ins Allgäu, die Julischen Alpen und nach Kärnten

    clearpx
  • Nord-Peloponnes, 03. - 11.04.2010

    Nord-Peloponnes, 03. - 11.04.2010

    Vier Podarcis-Arten auf einen Streich!

    clearpx
  • Nordgriechenland, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Nordgriechenland, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Traumreise durch das Pindos-Gebirge...

    clearpx
  • Sizilien, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Sizilien, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Orchideenreise in den Osten Siziliens

    clearpx
  • Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Chamäleons, Goldmabuyen und schöne Strände...

    clearpx
  • Spanien, November 2008 / Februar 2009

    Spanien, November 2008 / Februar 2009

    Eidechsen in der Provinz Alicante

    clearpx
  • Kalkeifel

    Kalkeifel

    Unser regionaler „Spielplatz“: botanische Highlights, artenreiche Schmetterlingswiesen und ein bisschen Herpetofauna…

    clearpx
  • Wer Pyrenäeneidechsen sehen möchte, sollte Wanderstiefel anziehen (Aufstieg zum Port del Rat / 2008)

    Juni 2008

    Unseren ersten Anlauf starteten wir im Juni 2008 während eines Campingurlaubs in Frankreich: Wir wollten die drei Pyrenäen-Eidechsen Iberolacerta aurelioi (Aurelio’s Gebirgseidechse), Iberolacerta bonnali (Pyrenäen-Gebirgseidechse) und Iberolacerta aranica (Iberische Gebirgseidechse) sehen. Damals hatten wir keine genauen Informationen, wo diese Arten zu finden sind und mussten uns auf Literaturangaben verlassen, was zugegebenermaßen etwas blauäugig war. Als erstes hatten wir uns Iberolacerta aurelioi vorgenommen, die in den Bergen oberhalb von Auzat vorkommen sollte, irgendwo am Port del Rat, so hatten wir in Erfahrung gebracht. Wir machten uns also noch vor Sonnenaufgang bei bestem Wetter und voller Optimismus auf den Weg und begannen mit dem Aufstieg zum Port del Rat, um rechtzeitig in der Morgensonne die Eidechsen begrüßen zu können. Hier oben auf 2200 m Höhe lag jedoch noch viel Schnee und von den Eidechsen fehlte leider jede Spur. Nach langer frustrierender Suche gaben wir auf.

    Anschließend fuhren wir auf die Südseite der Pyrenäen – in den Ordesa-Nationalpark in Spanien. Dort wollten wir erneut unser Glück versuchen. Am nächsten Morgen begannen wir also eine neue schweißtreibende Wanderung in fantastischer Gebirgskulisse. Oberhalb des Circo de Cotatuero hofften wir auf Iberolacerta bonnali, mussten jedoch feststellen, dass hier alles voller Podarcis muralis (Mauereidechse) war. Pyrenäen-Gebirgseidechsen gab es hier keine. Enttäuscht mussten wir uns eingestehen, dass ohne genaue Fundpunkt die Suche wohl aussichtslos sein würde. Wir würden wohl in einem späteren Jahr einen weiteren Versuch starten…

  • Am Port del Rat: Viel Schnee – aber keine Eidechsen

  • Zootoca vivipara (Waldeidechse) war die einzige Lacertide, die wir hier oben fanden

  • Auf zu einer neuen Bergwanderung (Ja: damals machten wir noch Camping!)

  • Im Ordesa-Nationalpark

  • Dort oben gab es leider nur Podarcis muralis

  • Enttäuscht…

    Juli 2014

    Anfang Juli. Hochsommer. Unser zweiter Anlauf: Düsseldorf – Saint-Lary-Soulain = 1.324 km. Nach endloser Fahrt durch Frankreich erreichten wir unser Ziel am frühen Abend: Hier war es kalt und regnete. Dennoch versuchten wir am nächsten Morgen unser Glück mit Iberolacerta bonnali – dieses Mal hatten wir einen Fundpunkt auf gut 2000 m Höhe, der angeblich bombensicher sein sollte. Im Habitat angekommen, waren die Temperaturen einstellig, die Sonne kämpfte sich durch die Wolken. Trotzdem waren hier Reptilien aktiv: wir fanden Zootoca vivipara, Vipera aspis (Aspisviper) – und viele Podarcis muralis, aber leider keine Iberolacertas. Eine Stunde später verschwand die Sonne hinter einer geschlossenen Wolkendecke und wir mussten die Suche abbrechen. Die Wettervorhersage für Saint-Lary-Soulain war miserabel. Daher fuhren wir weiter in Richtung Val d’Aran / Spanien. Wir bezogen ein Zimmer in Salardu, von wo aus wir am nächsten Tag Iberolacerta aranica suchen wollten.

    Der nächste Morgen: in aller Frühe starteten wir die lange Wanderung zu den Iberolacerta-Habitaten. Leider war schon nach einer halben Stunde Marsch der Weg von einer Schafkoppel blockiert, die von etwa 10 grimmigen Hunden bewacht wurde. Nicht besonders mutig, aber wir zogen es vor umzukehren. In Salardu erfuhren wir dann, dass der Weg in die Berge von einem Erdrutsch verschüttet war, dies erklärte dann auch, warum uns die Schafe im Weg gewesen waren. Eine weitere Niederlage. Als Ersatzprogramm untersuchten wir ein Gebirgstal, wo wir Natrix maura (Vipernnatter) und eine schöne Zamenis longissimus (Äskulapnatter) fanden. Anschließend fuhren wir weiter zum Ordesa-Nationalpark, wo wir sechs Jahre zuvor schon einmal vergeblich Iberolacerta bonnali gesucht hatten – dieses Mal hatten wir aber genaue Fundpunkte.

    Der nächste Morgen: wieder früh aufstehen, die gleiche anstrengende Wanderung wie 2008. Kaum waren wir am Fundpunkt angekommen, kippte das Wetter und dichte Wolken zogen auf – aussichtslos. Wir waren ratlos: Mittlerweile war die Wettervorhersage für die gesamten Pyrenäen katastrophal – das würde mit den Pyrenäeneidechsen auch in diesem Jahr nichts werden! Wir beschlossen, die Pyrenäen zu verlassen und nach Andosilla (Provinz Navarra) zu fahren, um Psammodromus hispanicus (sensu stricto) (Spanischer Sandläufer) zu suchen, eine Art, die 2012 beschrieben wurde und die wir natürlich sehen wollten. Leider verfolgte uns das schlechte Wetter und so brachten schwere Gewitter in Andosilla einen Temperatursturz und Dauerregen. Am nächsten Tag warteten wir auf eine Regenpause. Sobald ein paar Sonnenstrahlen durch die Wolken brachen, kamen auch die Spanischen Sandläufer heraus – immerhin etwas.

    Nachmittags fuhren wir weiter in Richtung Burgos, um Vipera latastei zu suchen – eine schlechte Idee: die Temperaturen dort waren fast schon winterlich; die Einheimischen zogen ihre Daunenmäntel an. Am nächsten Morgen schauten wir bei 8 °C auf den Wetterbericht: für Düsseldorf waren heute 30 °C angesagt. Die Truppenmoral war am Boden, wir wollten nach Hause. Burgos – Düsseldorf = 1.527 km. Mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit ging es zurück durch Frankreich (merke: Strafzettel in Frankreich sind teuer!).

    Wir hatten unser Bestes gegeben, aber gegen die äußerst unfreundlichen Wetterverhältnisse in den Pyrenäen konnten wir nichts ausrichten – diese störrischen Berge ließen einfach nicht mit sich reden.

  • Dieses Wurmloch portierte uns von Düsseldorf in die Pyrenäen

  • Eidechsenhabitat bei Saint-Lary-Soulain: k-k-kalt…

  • Das gesamte Gebiet war voller Podarcis muralis

  • Vipera aspis

  • Zootoca vivipara louislantzi

  • Natrix maura

  • Zamenis longissimus

  • Torla im Ordesa-Nationalpark

  • Spektakuläre Kulisse – aber keine Iberolacertas

  • Gewitterwolken bei Andosilla

  • Psammodromus hispanicus

  • Winter bei Burgos

    August 2016

    20.08.

    Da hinsichtlich der Iberolacertas auf den bisherigen Reisen unsere Diplomatie nicht gefruchtet hatte, setzten wir dieses Mal auf militärische Unterstützung. Also stellten wir ein Team aus durchtrainierten Kampfmaschinen zusammen. Am 20. August 2016 war es dann soweit: Wir flogen nach Barcelona, nahmen unseren Mietwagen in Empfang und holten Sjoerd van Bemmel (NL), Paul Lambourne (UK) und dessen Verlobte Alison Guest am Flughafen ab. Mit dieser Begleitung konnte wirklich nichts mehr schiefgehen. Nachdem unsere Super-Heroes auf der Rückbank verstaut waren, fuhren wir zielstrebig und wild entschlossen in Richtung Pyrenäen. Unser erstes Ziel: Der Col de Puymorens, wo eine Pyrenäenunterart der Zauneidechse (Lacerta agilis garzoni) lebt. Von der sommerlichen Hitze Barcelonas war hier in den Pyrenäen nichts mehr zu spüren: Auf dem Pass war es windig und neblig mit leichtem Nieselregen. Wir kannten das ja schon. Dennoch hatte Sjoerd nach gefühlten 10 Sekunden die erste Zauneidechse gefunden – Superhelden eben… Ein paar Zauneidechsen, Mauereidechsen und Blindschleichen später fuhren wir nach Tarascon-sur-Ariège, wo wir die erste Nacht verbrachten.

  • Superhelden frieren nie

  • Lacerta agilis garzoni (Männchen)…

  • …und ein Weibchen

  • Anguis fragilis (Blindschleiche)

  • Die Helden auf Fotosafari

    21.08.

    Heute stand Iberolacerta aurelioi auf dem Programm: Also fuhren wir Richtung Port del Rat, wo wir es 2008 schon einmal versucht hatten. Der dichte Nebel hielt uns nicht ab und wir stiegen furchtlos bergauf. Die wolkenverhangene Szenerie erinnerte eher an „Der Herr der Ringe“ – kurz vor dem Angriff der Orks – als an eine sommerliche Eidechsenexkursion. Nach einer halben Stunde Aufstieg klarte es aber in den Bergen auf und das Iberolacerta-Habitat lag in der blanken Sonne. Nun gab es kein Halten mehr – und tatsächlich, an der erwarteten Stelle sonnte sich Iberolacerta aurelioi auf den Steinen. In der umliegenden Heide tummelten sich Waldeidechsen und Paul fischte aus dem naheliegenden Gebirgsbach ein paar Pyrenäen-Gebirgsmolche (Calotriton asper). Yes! Strike! Nun konnte es weitergehen: Unsere Superhelden kühlten sich von den unbarmherzigen 20 °C Hitze der französischen Pyrenäen noch schnell in den angenehmen 4 °C kühlen Fluten eines Gebirgsbachs ab, dann fuhren wir zu unserer nächsten Station: Saint-Lary-Soulain.

  • Irgendwo in der Nähe von Mordor

  • Aufstieg

  • Es klart auf

  • Endlich: Iberolacerta aurelioi!

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Iberolacerta aurelioi

  • Zootoca vivipara

  • Calotriton asper

  • Blick vom Iberolacerta-Habitat

  • verdiente…

  • ...Abkühlung

  • Erebia cassioides

  • Circaetus gallicus (Schlangenadler)

    22.08.

    Saint-Lary-Soulain: Nachdem unsere Helden ihre morgendlichen Trainingseinheiten abgeschlossen hatten, fuhren wir zu dem Iberolacerta bonnali-Spot, den wir 2014 schon einmal aufgesucht hatten. Die Berge lagen in blanker Sonne. Zunächst sah es wieder so aus, als sei das ganze Gebiet ausschließlich von Podarcis muralis bevölkert. Aber nach einiger Suche fanden wir auch einzelne Iberolacertas. Ober-Yesss! Die zweite Art auf unserer Liste! Als nächstes suchten wir Aspisvipern. Wir schwärmten aus und wenig später kam Paul mit einer Viper aus dem Wald. Schnell war eine weitere Viper gefunden. Mission completed: Wir fuhren weiter, in Richtung Val d’Aran. Bei einem Zwischenstopp in dem Bergtal, wo wir 2014 Zamenis longissimus gefunden hatten, entdeckte Sjoerd – Zamenis longissimus.

    Aufgrund der fortgeschrittenen Zeit fuhren wir zugegebenermaßen recht zügig weiter – und gerieten prompt in eine Polizeikontrolle. Die Polizisten störten sich offenbar wenig daran, dass auf unserer Rückbank zwei verschwitzte nackte Männer und eine Dame im Bikini saßen. Der desolate Zustand der Reisepässe unserer Begleiter führte jedoch dazu, dass die Überprüfung unserer Personalien eine gefühlte halbe Stunde dauerte. Auch auf unsere Bestrebungen, die Situation fotografisch zu dokumentieren, reagierten die Beamten ausgesprochen humorlos. Irgendwann durften wir endlich weiterfahren und ließen den Tag in Salardu bei Bier und Pizza ausklingen.

  • Morgendliches Training

  • Iberolacerta-Habitat

  • Podarcis muralis

  • Iberolacerta bonnali

  • Iberolacerta bonnali - Männchen

  • Iberolacerta bonnali - Weibchen

  • Iberolacerta bonnali

  • Vipera aspis

  • Vipera aspis

  • Die Helden bei der Vipern-Fotografie

  • Cordulegaster boltoni

  • Zamenis longissimus

  • Halt: Polizei!

    23.08.

    Der nächste Morgen: in aller Frühe starteten wir die lange Wanderung zu den Iberolacerta-Habitaten (der gleichlautende Satz findet sich auch im Abschnitt zu unserer Reise aus 2014). Um Zeit zu sparen, versuchten wir den steilen Feldweg mit dem Auto hinaufzufahren. Leider erwies sich unser VW-Touran als ein für Superhelden ungeeignetes Fahrzeug, das den Wegverhältnissen in keiner Weise gewachsen war. Also mussten wir doch zu Fuß gehen. Weit oben in den Bergen stießen wir auf die bedrohlichen Schäferhunde, die uns 2014 das Fürchten gelehrt hatten. Sie ließen sich von Paul und Alison ausgiebig kraulen... Und so erreichten wir schließlich das Iberolacerta-Habitat, noch bevor die Sonne über die Bergspitzen gekrochen war. Nun hieß es abwarten, bis die Sonne am Himmel stand – oder doch nicht? Paul drehte einen Stein und fand darunter eine Eidechse: Ober-Yessssss! die letzte Art auf unserer Liste Europäischer Eidechsen –, Iberolacerta aranica (ja, trotz anders lautender Gerüchte haben wir uns wirklich gefreut!). Als die Sonne endlich herauskam, waren die Eidechsen überall – sehr dankbare Fotomotive.

    Uns blieb aber wenig Zeit, unseren Erfolg auszukosten, denn wir hatten neue Ziele: Paul wollte unbedingt den Pyrenäenfrosch (Rana pyrenaica) sehen. Also fuhren wir in die Westpyrenäen – etwa 4 Stunden Fahrt lagen vor uns, es war früher Nachmittag, somit bestand die Chance, die Frösche noch vor Sonnenuntergang zu finden. Kurz hinter der französischen Grenze gerieten wir in die nächste Polizeikontrolle. Der französische Polizeibeamte sprach überraschenderweise englisch und fragte uns, ob wir Alkohol oder Zigaretten dabei hätten, was wir mit treuherzigem Blick verneinten. Und weiter ging es. Gegen 18 Uhr waren wir am Froschhabitat, einem fast ausgetrockneten Bachlauf. Dennoch gelang es uns, die gesuchte Art zu finden. Ein erfolgreicher Tag, den wir abends im Hotel bei vorzüglicher baskischer Küche ausklingen ließen (Das Baskische war eine uns völlig unverständliche Sprache – lediglich Sjoerd beherrschte sie offenbar akzentfrei, zumindest klangen die Geräusche, die er von sich gab, wenn er Coca-Cola getrunken hatte, so ähnlich…).

  • Unser Volkswagen im Härtetest

  • Wir ließen das Auto stehen und gingen zu Fuß

  • Warten, bis die Sonne über die Bergspitzen kommt

  • Die „letzte“ Art!

  • Iberolacerta aranica beim morgendlichen Sonnenbad.

  • Die Tiere nutzen das Sonnenbaden offenbar, um ihre sozialen Beziehungen zu pflegen

  • Sehr fotogen...

  • ...

  • Gleicher Stein…

  • …anderes Tier

  • Das Winning-Team: Peter, Birgit, Sjoerd, Alison, Paul

  • Geschafft!

  • Rana pyrenaica (Pyrenäenfrosch)

  • Rana temporaria (Grasfrosch)

    24.08.

    Wir fuhren zu einem bekannten Fundort von Vipera seoanei (Iberische Kreuotter), offenbar so bekannt, dass es hier nicht mehr viele Vipern zu geben schien. Jedenfalls hatten wir kein Glück. Einige Kilometer weiter wollten wir Podarcis liolepis sebastiani suchen, eine Unterart der Katalonischen Mauereidechse. Vielleicht würden wir hier auch Vipern finden. In der Landschaft lag ein vielversprechender Felsklotz mit dem geschätzten Gewicht eines Mittelklassewagens. Der Vorschlag diesen umzudrehen - darunter würden wir bestimmt Vipern finden – stieß bei Sjoerd auf offene Ohren: Er hob den Felsbrocken hoch und fand darunter natürlich eine Viper. Diese entpuppte sich allerdings als Vipera aspis. Mit den Iberischen Kreuzottern sollte es dieses Mal wohl nicht klappen. Ganz zum Schluss fanden wir auch noch Podarcis liolepis. Ein paar schnelle Schnappschüsse – und nun war es bereits Zeit, das Baskenland zu verlassen. Unser Team würde am nächsten Morgen von Barcelona zurückfliegen. Vor uns lagen 570 km Wegstrecke, welche Birgit im Lichtgeschwindigkeits-Modus bewältigte. Wir verbrachten einen letzten, denkwürdigen Abend in Barcelona und setzten am nächsten Morgen etwas wehmütig unser Team in aller Frühe am Flughafen ab. Vielen Dank für die gemeinsame Reise, es war ein Riesenspaß mit euch! Wir hatten anschließend noch zwei Tage Zeit, uns die sehenswerte Street-Art der Stadt Saragossa anzusehen und unsere erfolgreiche Reise zu feiern.

  • In den Westpyrenäen

  • Alytes obstetricans (Geburtshelferkröte)

  • Bufo spinosus (Mittelmeer-Erdkröte)

  • Vipera aspis

  • Podarcis liolepis sebastiani

  • Saragossa: „Tribute to Iberian Wildlife“ von Dulk