Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

This trip was initially planned as “island hopping” on the Western Cyclades: Milos – Serifos – Kithnos – Kea. However, our ambitious travel schedule underestimated the deficiencies of Greek ferry services. So we only could visit two of these stations: Besides of another visit on Milos (see our 2011 trip report) we had the opportunity to explore Serifos Island extensively.

  • Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    The Robinson Crusoe Project

    clearpx
  • Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    At the edge of Europe (and beyond)

    clearpx
  • Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Spring trip to the Western Cyclades

    clearpx
  • Southeastern Spain, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Southeastern Spain, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Betic lizards – a photo documentation

    clearpx
  • Northwestern Spain, 16.-23.9.2017

    Northwestern Spain, 16.-23.9.2017

    Reptile Rallye on the Iberian Peninsula

    clearpx
  • Ionian Islands, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Ionian Islands, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Cruising through Ulysses’ homeland

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Lizard safari at the Atlantic coast

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Season Opening 2017

    clearpx
  • Pyrenees, 2008 - 2016

    Pyrenees, 2008 - 2016

    Searching for Pyrenean lizards - third time's a charm!

    clearpx
  • Sicily & Aeolian Islands, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Sicily & Aeolian Islands, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Mission Volcano! Smoking mountains and rare reptiles

    clearpx
  • Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Hellas reloaded – Back in Europe’s biodiversity lab

    clearpx
  • Spain, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Spain, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Biodiversity on the south-eastern tangent

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Lizard Safari in the mountains of Montenegro

    clearpx
  •  Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    The exclusive Podarcis filfolensis Home Story!

    clearpx
  • Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Adventures in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula

    clearpx
  • Central Spain, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    Central Spain, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    14 days in the heat of Castile

    clearpx
  • Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Reptile adventures in Western Greece

    clearpx
  • Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    2014 Season Kick-off with 16 reptile species

    clearpx
  • Corsica, 07.-17.09.2013

    Corsica, 07.-17.09.2013

    Mountains, sea and rock lizards

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Lizard hunting in Central Portugal

    clearpx
  • Romania, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Romania, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Herping adventures from the Black Sea coast to the Iron Gate

    clearpx
  • Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Visiting the Balearic lizards

    clearpx
  • Peloponnese, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Peloponnese, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Autumn trip on Peloponnese

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Summer trip in the mountains of Montenegro

    clearpx
  • Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Our search for the legendary giant lizards...

    clearpx
  • Crete, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Crete, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Searching for flowers and lizards on Crete...

    clearpx
  • Andalucia, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Andalucia, 10. - 18.03.2012

    A hot week full of herping highlights in Southwestern Andalucia

    clearpx
  • Northern Spain, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Northern Spain, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Herpetological trip to the northwest of Spain: the mountains west of Leon, the Atlantic coast south of A Coruña and the Picos de Europa.

    clearpx
  • Aegean Islands, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Aegean Islands, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Five islands in two weeks: Kythira, Pori, Milos, Kimolos and Sifnos

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Trip to the easternmost island of Greece...

    clearpx
  • Central spain, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Central spain, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Iberolacertas within Sierra de Gredos, Pena de Francia and Sierra de Guadarrama

    clearpx
  • Alps, 03. -17.07.2010

    Alps, 03. -17.07.2010

    Our first trip to the Alps led us to the Allgäu area, the Julian Alps and Carinthia

    clearpx
  • Northern Peloponnese, 3.-11.4.2010

    Northern Peloponnese, 3.-11.4.2010

    Four Podarcis species in one area!

    clearpx
  • Northern Greece, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Northern Greece, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Great trip to the Pindos mountains...

    clearpx
  • Sicily, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Sicily, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Orchid trip to eastern Sicily

    clearpx
  • Spain, November 2008 / February 2009

    Spain, November 2008 / February 2009

    Lizards in the Alicante Province

    clearpx
  • Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Chamaeleons, Trachylepis and beautiful beaches...

    clearpx
  • Eifel region

    Eifel region

    Our local "playground": botanical highlights, meadows with numerous butterflies and some herpetofauna...

    clearpx
  • The trip schedule: dashed line = our plans; continuous line = the reality

    Part 1 - Milos

    We arrived at Athens airport on Saturday evening and spent the night at an accommodation in the – not very attractive – surroundings of the airport. Our continuation to Milos was scheduled for the next morning.

    Sunday morning, 9 a.m.: our host picked us up at Milos airport and brought us to our accommodation at Adamantas where we organized a rental car: Holiday! In spring, Milos is a rather laid-back place, mass tourism seems to be a summer phenomenon. The landscapes of Milos are – apart of some scenic coastal areas – less spectacular than on other Cyclades Islands: The interior part of the island is characterized by rather smooth grassy hills and heathlands. During our stay, temperatures were warm although the sky was temporarily clouded.

    Herpetofauna

    We had seen the Milos wall lizard (Podarcis milensis) on our trip in 2011 but this time we wanted “better” pictures of this pretty species. In the gardens around Adamantas we were able to observe plenty of these lizards. Moreover, we also wanted to take “better” pictures of the local Balkan green lizards (Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri): it took us some patience, but we succeeded. Moreover, we hoped to do a trip to the Ananes Archipelago which is located about 30 km south-west of Milos in order to visit the endemic subspecies Podarcis milensis adolfjordansii. Unfortunately, this turned out to be mission impossible: We didn’t find anyone with a seaworthy boat; moreover, our undertaking was meant to fail due to the lack of knowledge of the locals – “There is no place on Milos called Ananes…”

    Besides of the lizards, we came across the following reptile species: Mauremys rivulata (Balkan pond turtle), Mediodactylus kotschyi (Kotschy's gecko), Hemidactylus turcicus (Turkish gecko), Ablepharus kitaibelii (European snake-eyed skink), Telescopus fallax (cat snake), Macrovipera lebetina (blunt-nosed viper). On the contrary, we didn’t find Zamenis situla (leopard snake) and Natrix natrix (grass snake) this time, which we had seen in 2011.

    Our records of Mauremys rivulata are somehow remarkable: We weren’t very optimistic to find this species as the island suffered from drought despite of the early season. The creeks were dry and ponds had low water. Surprisingly, we could observe some specimens basking along a completely dry streambed. At least temporarily, this species seems to be less dependent on water than we expected.

  • Sarakiniko cliffs

  • Sarakiniko

  • Podarcis milensis (male)

  • Podarcis milensis: nice female

  • Mediodactylus kotschyi

  • Hemidactylus turcicus

  • Ablepharus kitaibelii

  • Telescopus fallax

  • Macrovipera lebetina

  • Orchis fragrans

  • Egretta garzetta

  • Extraordinary beautiful female of Podarcis milensis

  • Podarcis milensis (female)

  • Podarcis milensis: male with yellow coloration

  • Podarcis milensis

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (juvenile)

  • Mauremys rivulata (juvenile)

  • Mauremys rivulata

  • Milos

    Part 2 – Serifos

    On Tuesday at noon we entered the ferry which carried us via Sifnos to Serifos, our next station. Serifos welcomed us with the impressive view of the main village Chora with its Cyclades-style white houses built on a steep hill. Our accommodation was close to the harbor at Livadi. The gardens of this village had been wetlands some years ago with a rare population of Natrix tessellata (dice snake) – more about this below.

    The major part of the island consists of paltry mountains but there are also some water courses with lush vegetation. In particular, the Steno-Reservoir north of Livadi turned out to be a good spot for nature photography: This artificial lake has never been brought into service; hence its shores developed a rich flora and fauna. Apart from the major settlements of Chora and Livadi, Serifos is a calm and lonely place: The few other villages seemed almost abandoned and the sporadic tourist settlements at the coast still were asleep due to the early season.

    Actually, we planned to leave Serifos after one day and head on to Kithnos and Kea, subsequently. However, a ferry strike put an end to these plans and we were stuck on Serifos for three days. In the end, we knew each lizard by its first name… But perhaps, reducing the speed of this trip was the best which could happen to us: We were able to explore Serifos in-depth and, due to the strike-induced isolation, the island appeared like a magic forgotten world.

  • Leaving Milos

  • Stop-over at Sifnos

  • Arriving at Serifos

    Herpetofauna

    Our main goal on Serifos was the local morph of the Aegean wall lizard (Podarcis erhardii erhardii). Though the lizards from Sifnos, which we had seen in 2011, are also referred to the nominate subspecies, we had heard that the lizards on Serifos “look completely different”. We didn’t have to search a lot for this species – it is common and widespread all over the island, particularly in habitats with sufficient humidity. On Serifos, males as well as females of Podarcis erhardii show striking yellow throats (whereas the lizards on Serifos have white throats). Furthermore, males and females of the Serifos lizards are about same size (see also WETTSTEIN, 1953). In contrast to this, males of Podarcis erhardii are much bigger than females on other islands.

    Moreover, these lizards showed a strong tendency to pairing which we didn’t notice in other populations of Aegean wall lizards so far: Their behavior somehow reminded us to some Lacerta species. Especially in densely populated habitats – e.g. the shores of the water reservoir mentioned above – we frequently noticed couples of these lizards. Obviously, mating season had already been finished: we saw numerous pregnant females. The males didn’t seem to be excessively territorial or aggressive. With regard to this, it would be interesting to know if there is some correlation between the low sexual dimorphism and the distinct pairing behavior… Be it as it is: The Serifos lizards turned out to be great photo models!

    The second Lacertid species on Serifos is Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri which we could easily observe in the gardens of Livadi where it wasn’t too shy. Other reptile species we found were Ablepharus kitaibelii, Hemidactylus turcicus, Mediodactylus kotschyi, Mauremys rivulata, Telescopus fallax and Hierophis caspius (Caspian whip snake) - no picture of the latter one, unfortunately. Zamenis situla, which also occurs on Serifos, wasn’t found. The amphibians of Serifos are Bufotes virdis (green toad), which was found under stones, and Pelophylax sp. (water frog), which was seen at several water bodies.

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii: stunning lizards!

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (pair)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • At Steno Lake

  • Coenagrion ornatum

  • Ischnura elegans (immatur)

  • Trithemis annulata

  • Anax parthenope

  • Pelophylax sp.

  • Bufotes viridis

  • Mauremys rivulata: not a rare species on Serifos

  • The former wetlands of Livadi

  • Anacamptis laxiflora

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (female)

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (male)

  • Erinaceus roumanicus

  • Chora

  • Northern Serifos

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii and juvenile Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri basking together

  • Telescopus fallax

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii and Mediodactylus kotschyi

  • Hemidactylus turcicus

  • Relics of oak forest which presumably was widespread formerly on the island. 

  • Lanius senator

  • Orchis sancta

  • Habitat at Steno reservoir

  • Lizards at the lake: Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (pair)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (pair)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (pair)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii: These lizards are just fun!

  • Laid-back life on Serifos

    Natrix tessellata on Serifos

    In the 20th century, Natrix tessellata was said to be common on Serifos. However, in the early 21st century it was unclear whether this species still was present on the island: BROGGI (2011) pointed out that in 1985 CATTANEO had been the last one who has seen this species on Serifos. However, the record of a dead specimen in 2015 which was published on serifoswildlife.net indicated that this species was still present. The wetlands of Livadi which have been mentioned in literature are now cultivated land with houses and gardens. Remaining populations of Anacamptis laxiflora indicate that this area must have been a lush habitat before. However, it is doubtful whether Natrix tessellata still occurs in this area (and the locals kill any snake they come across). The water course in the Haramia valley which also has been mentioned in literature has been interrupted by the construction of the Steno Lake. Regarding this massive interference we weren’t too optimistic to find Natrix tessellata here. However, the creek below the water reservoir has areas with dense vegetation populated by frogs and green toads – a suitable habitat for dice snakes. Actually, we found the remaining of a dead specimen here.

    A living dice snake was finally found at another place: During our last day on the island we photographed lizards at the shores of Steno Lake and suddenly noticed a dice snake in the water. Luckily, we were able to take some quick shots. Actually, this species has survived on Serifos. Remarkably, all newer records (or own plus the one from serifoswildlife) are located in the Harania /Steno valley.

    Due to their unsteady water levels, storage lakes usually are rather hostile for wildlife. In this regard, it turned out as an advantage that the Steno reservoir never has been brought into service. As far as we noticed, it is now an important secondary habitat for birds and dragonflies. With regard to this it could be reasonable to define the lake and its surroundings as a protected area: sweet water areas are rare on Aegean Islands. However, the future of this lake is uncertain: the dam is leaky with water running down the wall at several spots… Overall, regarding the Dice Snake, it doesn’t seem unlikely that further populations of this species occur in inaccessible valleys on the island.

  • Searching for Natrix tessellata

  • Natrix tessellata

  • Natrix tessellata

  • Motacilla flava

  • Tringa glareola

  • Plegadis falcinellus

  • A last shot of Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • The ferry to Piraeus

  • Leaving Serifos

    Epilogue – Athens

    Friday evening, a ferry approached at Serifos and brought us back to Piraeus, finally. We slept in a hotel at nearby Palaio Faliro. There, we visited a population of introduced Podarcis siculus campestris (Italian wall lizard) the next morning. The lizards were basking at the seafront next to the highway and didn’t care about the numerous people passing by. The Italian wall lizards once more proved as an invasive species with low habitat requirements. We quickly took some shots and headed to the airport as our return flight was scheduled for Saturday afternoon.

  • Busy Athens

  • Podarcis siculus campestris

Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

Diese Reise war als Inselhopping über die westlichen Kykladen geplant: Milos – Serifos – Kithnos – Kea. Unsere ambitionierte Reiseplanung hatte jedoch die Unzulänglichkeiten des griechischen Fährverkehrs unterschätzt, so dass wir nur die Hälfte der geplanten Stationen besuchen konnten: Neben einem erneuten Besuch der Insel Milos (siehe unser Reisebericht aus dem Jahr 2011) hatten wir so die Gelegenheit, die Insel Serifos ausführlich zu erkunden.

  • Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    Linosa, 12.-17.06.2018

    Das Robinson Crusoe-Projekt

    clearpx
  • Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    Kastellorizo & Nisyros, 12.-21.05.2018

    Inseln am Rande Europas

    clearpx
  • Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Milos & Serifos, 14. – 21.04.2018

    Frühjahrsreise auf die westlichen Kykladen

    clearpx
  • Südostspanien, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Südostspanien, 10.2016 – 11.2017

    Betische Eidechsen – Eine Fotodokumentation

    clearpx
  • Nordwestspanien, 16.-23.9.2017

    Nordwestspanien, 16.-23.9.2017

    Reptilienrallye auf der Iberischen Halbinsel

    clearpx
  • Ionische Inseln, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Ionische Inseln, 25.5.-5.6.2017

    Kreuzfahrt in der Heimat des Odysseus

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Portugal, 14. – 21.4.2017

    Eidechsensafari an der Atlantikküste

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 27.3. – 2.4.2017

    Season Opening 2017

    clearpx
  • Pyrenäen, 2008 - 2016

    Pyrenäen, 2008 - 2016

    Aller guten Dinge sind Drei: Die Suche nach den Pyrenäeneidechsen

    clearpx
  • Sizilien & Äolische Inseln, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Sizilien & Äolische Inseln, 26.5. – 6.6.2016

    Mission Vulkan! Rauchende Berge und seltene Reptilien

    clearpx
  • Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Astypalaia & Naxos, 25.3.-3.4.2016

    Hellas reloaded – Besuch in Europas Biodiversitäts-Labor

    clearpx
  • Spanien, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Spanien, 29.8.-11.9.2015

    Biodiversität auf der Südost-Tangente

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Montenegro, 2. – 11.7.2015

    Eidechsensafari in den Bergen Montenegros

    clearpx
  •  Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Malta, 3. – 6.4.2015

    Die exklusive Podarcis filfolensis Homestory!

    clearpx
  • Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Oman, 6.–15.3.2015

    Abenteuer im Südosten der arabischen Halbinsel

    clearpx
  • Zentralspanien, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    Zentralspanien, 29.8. - 14.9.2014

    14 Tage in der Hitze Kastiliens

    clearpx
  • Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Lefkada, Kefalonia & Akarnania, 24.5. - 3.6.2014

    Reptilienabenteuer in Westgriechenland

    clearpx
  • Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    Mallorca / Alicante - 15.-23.03.2014

    2014 Season Kick-off mit 16 Reptilienarten

    clearpx
  • Korsika, 07.-17.09.2013

    Korsika, 07.-17.09.2013

    Berge, Meer und Felseidechsen

    clearpx
  • Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Portugal, 13. - 20.07.2013

    Eidechsensuche in Zentralportugal

    clearpx
  • Rumänien, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Rumänien, 24.05. - 03.06.2013

    Herpetologische Abenteuer von der Schwarzmeerküste zum Eisernen Tor

    clearpx
  • Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Menorca, 17. - 24.03.2013

    Besuch bei den Baleareneidechsen

    clearpx
  • Peloponnes, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Peloponnes, 20. - 27.10.2012

    Herbstreise quer durch den Peloponnes

    clearpx
  • Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Montenegro, 27.07. - 04.08.2012

    Sommertrip in die Berge Montenegros

    clearpx
  • Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Skyros & Evia, 26.05. - 04.06.2012

    Die Suche nach den legendären "Rieseneidechsen"...

    clearpx
  • Kreta, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Kreta, 06. - 13.04.2012

    Auf der Suche nach den Blumen und Eidechsen Kretas...

    clearpx
  • Andalusien, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Andalusien, 10. - 18.03.2012

    Eine heiße Woche voller herpetologischer Highlights im Südwesten Andalusiens

    clearpx
  • Nordspanien, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Nordspanien, 02. - 13.09.2011

    Herpetologische Reise in den Nordwesten Spaniens: die Berge westlich von Leon, die Atlantikküste südlich von A Coruña und die Picos de Europa.

    clearpx
  • Ägäis, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Ägäis, 28.05. - 13.06.2011

    Fünf Inseln in zwei Wochen: Kythira, Pori, Milos, Kimolos und Sifnos

    clearpx
  • Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Rhodos & Kastellorizo, 12. - 19.03.2011

    Exkursion zur östlichsten Insel Griechenlands...

    clearpx
  • Zentralspanien, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Zentralspanien, 25.09. - 03.10.2010

    Iberolacertas in der Sierra de Gredos, Pena de Francia und Sierra de Guadarrama

    clearpx
  • Alpen, 03. - 17.07.2010

    Alpen, 03. - 17.07.2010

    Unsere erste Tour in die Alpen führte uns ins Allgäu, die Julischen Alpen und nach Kärnten

    clearpx
  • Nord-Peloponnes, 03. - 11.04.2010

    Nord-Peloponnes, 03. - 11.04.2010

    Vier Podarcis-Arten auf einen Streich!

    clearpx
  • Nordgriechenland, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Nordgriechenland, 01. - 15. 06.2009

    Traumreise durch das Pindos-Gebirge...

    clearpx
  • Sizilien, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Sizilien, 28.03. - 04.04.2009

    Orchideenreise in den Osten Siziliens

    clearpx
  • Spanien, November 2008 / Februar 2009

    Spanien, November 2008 / Februar 2009

    Eidechsen in der Provinz Alicante

    clearpx
  • Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Samos, September 2008 / 2009

    Chamäleons, Goldmabuyen und schöne Strände...

    clearpx
  • Kalkeifel

    Kalkeifel

    Unser regionaler „Spielplatz“: botanische Highlights, artenreiche Schmetterlingswiesen und ein bisschen Herpetofauna…

    clearpx
  • Die Reiseroute (gestrichelte Linie = unsere Planung, durchgezogene Linie = wie es wirklich war)

    Teil 1 - Milos

    Wir flogen am Samstagnachmittag nach Athen und hatten eine Übernachtung in der wenig attraktiven Umgebung des Flughafens – Unser Weiterflug nach Milos war erst für den nächsten Morgen geplant.

    Sonntagmorgens um 9 Uhr landeten wir auf Milos, wo wir von unserer Wirtin abgeholt wurden, unsere Unterkunft im Hafenort Adamantas bezogen und uns um einen Mietwagen kümmerten: Urlaub! Milos ist um diese Jahreszeit noch vergleichsweise beschaulich, Massentourismus ist hier eher ein sommerliches Phänomen. Landschaftlich ist Milos – abgesehen von einigen pittoresken Küstenabschnitten – weniger spektakulär als andere Kykladen-Inseln: Im Inselinneren dominieren eher sanfte, grasbestandene Hügel und Heideland. Die Temperaturen waren während unseres Aufenthalts angenehm frühlingshaft, wenn auch der Himmel teilweise bedeckt war.

    Herpetofauna

    Die Milos-Mauereidechse (Podarcis milensis) hatten wir ja bereits auf unserer Reise im Jahr 2011 fotografiert, wir wollten aber noch bessere Bilder von dieser hübschen Art. In den Gärten rund um Adamantas wurden wir problemlos fündig. Auch von der örtlichen Form der Riesensmaragdeidechse (Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri) wollten wir noch bessere Aufnahmen, was uns mit etwas Geduld auch gelang. Wir hatten außerdem gehofft, eine Exkursion zum 30 km südwestlich von Milos gelegenen Ananes-Archipel unternehmen zu können, um die dortige Unterart Podarcis milensis adolfjordansii zu sehen. Dieser Wunsch erwies sich aber als nicht realisierbar: So fand sich niemand mit einem seetüchtigen Boot, der uns dorthin bringen konnte. Zudem schien unser Vorhaben bereits an der mangelnden Ortskenntnis der Einheimischen – „Es gibt auf Milos keinen Ort namens Ananes“ – zu scheitern.

    Neben den Eidechsen sahen wir folgende Reptilienarten: Mauremys rivulata (Balkan-Bachschildkröte), Mediodactylus kotschyi (Ägäischer Bogenfingergecko), Hemidactylus turcicus (Europäischer Halbfingergecko), Ablepharus kitaibelii (Johannisechse), Telescopus fallax (Katzennatter), Macrovipera lebetina (Milos-Viper). Nicht nachweisen konnten wir dieses Mal Zamenis situla (Leopardnatter) und Natrix natrix (Ringelnatter), zwei Arten, die wir 2011 gesehen hatten.

    Hervorzuheben ist der Fund der Balkan-Bachschildkröten: Wir waren wenig optimistisch, diese Tiere zu finden, da angesichts großer Dürre die uns bekannten Wasserläufe ausgetrocknet waren und stehende Gewässer bereits jetzt im Frühling Niedrigwasser hatten. Zu unserer Überraschung konnten wir einzelne Tiere in völlig trockenen Bachbetten beim Sonnenbad beobachten. Zumindest temporär scheint diese Art weniger stark vom Wasser abhängig zu sein, als wir gedacht hatten.

  • Die Klippen von Sarakiniko

  • Sarakiniko

  • Podarcis milensis (Männchen)

  • Podarcis milensis: hübsch gefärbtes Weibchen

  • Mediodactylus kotschyi

  • Hemidactylus turcicus

  • Ablepharus kitaibelii

  • Telescopus fallax

  • Macrovipera lebetina

  • Orchis fragrans

  • Egretta garzetta (Seidenreiher)

  • Außergewöhnlich gelb gefärbtes Weibchen von Podarcis milensis

  • Podarcis milensis (Männchen)

  • Podarcis milensis: Männchen mit gelber Färbung

  • Podarcis milensis

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (juvenil)

  • Mauremys rivulata (juvenil)

  • Mauremys rivulata

  • Milos

    Teil 2 – Serifos

    Am Dienstag um die Mittagszeit bestiegen wir eine Fähre, die uns von Milos mit Zwischenstopp auf Sifnos zu unserer nächsten Station, der Insel Serifos, brachte.

    Serifos begrüßte uns mit sommerlichem Wetter, bei der Einfahrt in den Hafen strahlte uns die beeindruckend auf einen Hügel gebaute Chora (der Hauptort) mit ihren Kykladen-typisch weißen Häusern entgegen. Wir bezogen eine Unterkunft im Hafenort Livadi, dessen Gärten noch vor wenigen Jahren ein Sumpfland waren, das ein seltenes Vorkommen der Würfelnatter (Natrix tessellata) beherbergte – dazu unten mehr.

    Der Großteil der Insel ist bergig und karg, es gibt aber einige Wasserläufe mit üppiger Vegetation. Als besonders ergiebiges Exkursionsziel erwies sich der Steno-Stausee nördlich von Livadi, der zwar fertiggestellt, aber offenbar nie in wirtschaftlichen Betrieb genommen wurde, so dass sich an seinen Ufern eine reiche Flora und Fauna entwickeln konnte. Abgesehen von den Hauptorten Chora und Livadi ist die Insel recht einsam: Die wenigen anderen Ortschaften erscheinen fast verlassen und die vereinzelten Touristensiedlungen an der Küste befanden sich noch im Winterschlaf.

    Eigentlich wollten wir bereits am folgenden Tag Serifos verlassen und per Fähre auf die Nachbarinsel Kithnos und weiter nach Kea fahren. Ein Fährstreik sollte jedoch unsere Pläne durchkreuzen, so dass wir drei Tag lang auf der Insel festsaßen. Am Ende kannten wir jede Eidechse bei ihrem Vornamen. Vielleicht war es aber auch gut so, das Tempo aus dieser Reise zu nehmen, und die Insel etwas ausführlicher zu erkunden: In der durch den Fährstreik erzwungenen Abgeschiedenheit erschien uns die Insel wie eine vergessene Welt.

  • Abschied von Milos

  • Zwischenstopp auf Sifnos

  • Ankunft auf Serifos

    Herpetofauna

    Unser Hauptaugenmerk galt auf Serifos der lokalen Form der Ägäischen Mauereidechse, die hier in der Nominatform (Podarcis erhardii erhardii) vorkommt. Zwar werden die Eidechsen, die wir 2011 auf Sifnos gesehen hatten, ebenfalls der Nominatform zugerechnet. Aber wir hatten gehört, dass die Tiere auf Serifos „ganz anders“ aussähen. Wir mussten nicht lange suchen, um uns selbst ein Bild zu machen: Die Eidechsen sind insbesondere in ausreichend feuchten Lebensräumen überall auf der Insel häufig. Charakteristisch bei den Tieren auf Serifos ist die sowohl bei Männchen als auch bei Weibchen kräftig gelbe Kehlfärbung, wohingegen die Eidechsen auf Sifnos weiße Kehlen haben. Auffällig ist zudem, dass Männchen und Weibchen bei dieser Form in etwa gleich groß zu sein scheinen (vgl. WETTSTEIN, 1953), während auf anderen Inseln die Männchen oftmals deutlich größer als die Weibchen sind.

    Es scheint bei diesen Eidechsen eine starke Tendenz zur Paarbildung zu geben, die wir bei anderen Ägäischen Mauereidechsen in dieser Intensität noch nicht beobachten konnten (die Tiere zeigten ein Verhalten, das eher an Vertreter der Gattung Lacerta erinnerte). Gerade auch in dicht besiedelten Habitaten, beispielsweise an den Ufern des genannten Stausees, konnten wir die Tiere regelmäßig paarweise beobachten. Die Paarungszeit selbst war offenbar schon vorbei – wir sahen zahlreiche trächtige Weibchen. Eine übermäßige territoriale Aggressivität konnten wir zudem nicht erkennen. Es wäre interessant herauszufinden, ob es einen Zusammenhang zwischen dem geringen Geschlechtsdimorphismus und dem stark ausgeprägten Paarverhalten gibt... Wie dem auch sei: Die Serifos-Eidechsen erwiesen sich als faszinierende und attraktive Fotomodelle!

    Als zweite Lacertiden-Art kommt auf Serifos Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri vor, welche wir vor allem in den Gärten von Livadi gut beobachten konnten und die dort wenig Scheu zeigte. Weitere Reptilienarten, die wir auf der Insel nachweisen konnten, sind Ablepharus kitaibelii, Hemidactylus turcicus, Mediodactylus kotschyi, Mauremys rivulata, Telescopus fallax und Hierophis caspius (Kaspische Zornnatter); von letzter gelang uns aber kein Foto. Nicht gefunden haben wir Zamenis situla. Die Amphibienarten der Insel sind Bufotes viridis (Wechselkröte), die wir beim Steinedrehen fanden, und Pelophylax sp. (Wasserfrosch), den wir an diversen Wasserstellen beobachten konnten.

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii: echte Hingucker!

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (Paar)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Am Steno-Stausee

  • Coenagrion ornatum

  • Ischnura elegans (immatur)

  • Trithemis annulata

  • Anax parthenope

  • Pelophylax sp.

  • Bufotes viridis

  • Mauremys rivulata: keine seltene Art auf Serifos

  • Das ehemalige Küsten-Sumpfgebiet von Livadi

  • Anacamptis laxiflora

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (Weibchen)

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri (Männchen)

  • Erinaceus roumanicus (Nördlicher Weißbrustigel)

  • Chora

  • Der Norden von Serifos

  • Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii und juvenile Lacerta trilineata hansschweizeri beim gemeinsamen Sonnenbad

  • Telescopus fallax

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii und Mediodactylus kotschyi

  • Hemidactylus turcicus

  • Reste von Eichenwald, der früher vermutlich größere Teile der Insel bedeckte.

  • Lanius senator (Rotkopfwürger)

  • Orchis sancta (Heiliges Knabenkraut)

  • Habitat am Steno-Stausee

  • Eidechsen am See: Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Paar von Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii (Paar)

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Podarcis erhardii erhardii: Diese Tiere machen einfach gute Laune!

  • Ruhiges Leben Serifos

    Die Würfelnatter auf Serifos

    Noch im 20. Jahrhundert galt Natrix tessellata auf Serifos als häufig. Um die Jahrtausendwende war hingegen zu befürchten, die Art sei auf der Insel ausgestorben: BROGGI (2011) weist darauf hin, die Art sei auf Serifos zuletzt von CATTANEO im Jahr 1985 beobachtet worden. Ein Totfund aus dem Jahr 2015, der auf serifoswildlife.net veröffentlicht wurde, zeigte aber, dass die Art auf der Insel noch existent sein musste. Das in der Literatur beschriebene Sumpfland bei Livadi wurde wie bereits erwähnt mittlerweile in Gärten umgewandelt. Restbestände von Anacamptis laxiflora (Lockerblütiges Knabenkraut) geben eine Vorstellung, dass dies früher ein üppiges Habitat gewesen sein muss. Ob hier noch Würfelnattern leben, darf aber bezweifelt werden – zumal die Einheimischen in der Regel jede Schlange, die ihnen begegnet, erschlagen. In den ebenfalls in der Literatur als Fundort beschriebenen Bachlauf im Haramia-Tal oberhalb von Livadi wurde vor einigen Jahren der besagte Steno-Stausee gebaut. Angesichts dieses massiven baulichen Eingriffs hatten wir wenig Hoffnung, hier fündig zu werden. Der Bachlauf unterhalb des Stausees ist mittlerweile aber wieder mit üppiger Vegetation bestanden und bietet Lebensraum für Frösche und Wechselkröten – ein durchaus geeignetes Habitat für Würfelnattern. Tatsächlich fanden wir hier die Reste eines toten Exemplars.

    Ein lebendes Tier konnten wir jedoch an anderer Stelle nachweisen: Während wir am letzten Tag unseres Aufenthalts Eidechsen am Ufer des Stausees fotografierten, schwamm im Wasser seelenruhig eine Würfelnatter vorbei und gab uns sogar noch die Gelegenheit zu ein paar Schnappschüssen. Die Art hat auf Serifos also überlebt. Bemerkenswerterweise stammen alle jüngeren Funde (unsere sowie der auf serifoswildlife veröffentlichte) offenbar aus dem Harania-/Steno-Tal.

    Stauseen sind aufgrund ihrer schwankenden Wasserspiegel oftmals eher lebensfeindlich. Dass der Stausee von Steno nicht wirtschaftlich genutzt wird, hat sich hier sicher als Vorteil erwiesen. So bietet dieser nach unseren Beobachtungen auch einen wertvollen Sekundärlebensraum für verschiedene Vogel- und Libellenarten. Angesichts dieser Beobachtungen wäre es naheliegend, den Stausee und dessen Umgebung als Schutzgebiet auszuweisen: Süßwasserseen sind in der Ägäis rar. Die Zukunft diese Habitats erscheint indes ungewiss: Die Staumauer ist offenbar undicht, an mehreren Stellen rinnt Wasser heraus. Mit Blick auf die Würfelnatter erscheint es allerdings gut möglich, dass in unzugänglichen Tälern der Insel noch weitere Vorkommen bestehen.

  • Auf der Suche nach Natrix tessellata

  • Natrix tessellata

  • Natrix tessellata

  • Motacilla flava (Schafstelze)

  • Tringa glareola (Bruchwasserläufer)

  • Plegadis falcinellus (Brauner Sichler)

  • Abschiedsgruß von Podarcis erhardii erhardii

  • Die Fähre Nach Piräus

  • Abschied von Serifos

    Epilog – Athen

    Am Freitagabend legte erstmals wieder eine Fähre auf Serifos an, die uns zurück nach Piräus brachte. Wir nahmen ein Hotelzimmer im nahegelegenen Palaio Faliro, um am nächsten Morgen eine Population eingeschleppter Ruineneidechsen (Podarcis siculus campestris) zu besuchen. Die Tiere sonnten sich unbeeindruckt von den zahlreichen Passanten an der Strandpromenade direkt neben der sechsspurigen Schnellstraße. Die Ruineneidechse offenbart sich auch hier als invasive Art, die geringe Ansprüche an ihr Habitat stellt. Schnell wurden noch einige Bilder geschossen – am Samstagmittag ging dann bereits unser Rückflug nach Düsseldorf.

  • Kulturschock Athen

  • Podarcis siculus campestris